Announcement Time

This is a very hard post for me to write. Like torture, really. I suppose I still have some residual fear from my experiences this summer. You know, the whole orphaned author thing? Yeah, that. I had some very good news this week (Monday to be exact), but I haven’t wanted to announce it because, yeah, I worry that things will fall apart. Again. And I’ll look like an idjit.

But someone (you know who you are) told me this is a sure thing and that I should share it with y’all. So I will. *deep breath*

I found out this week that the first two books in my Veil series will be published by SirenBookStrand! I…okay, my brain still stutters every time I try to imagine it, but there you have it. I’m going to be p-p-published. Seriously, people, when I read that e-mail, my brain went into shock mode. It wouldn’t work. I alternately beamed and gaped at my monitor for about six hours only to go home in a daze. I’m still in a daze today, but it’s lessened some. I can sort of actually think now. (This is a good thing.)

It just doesn’t feel real. It feels like some kind of gimmick. I keep expecting to hear “but wait, there’s more!”, but so far…I haven’t heard any of that.

I broke the news to my family on Monday night. I spent two hours on the phone (and I hate the phone), calling cousins, aunts, and uncles. Out of the 9 people I spoke to, 3 of them thought I was calling them to let them know about a pregnancy (either mine, my sister-in-law’s, or someone else’s), one of them thought I was calling to tell them someone died, and the others didn’t tell me what they were thinking. Those talks on the phone still left me with a feeling of disbelief.

But it was last night that made me realize…yes, this is happening. I went to dinner with my sister, brother-in-law, their boys, the boys’ girlfriends, my aunt, mom, brother, and sister-in-law. After a delicious meal, which I had accompanied by a very nice Shiraz, they all toasted me. But it was the big grins on their faces that told me how proud they are of me.

Sure, my nephews are mercenary and wanted to know about money and if the publisher was legit (cause my baby takes care of his nanny). They all talked about what they wanted for Christmas. My brother-in-law was the 2nd person to mention a boat. I know they were joking. At least, I hope they were. I’m being realistic in what kind of sales I expect to see. Modest, hopefully. Stupendous would be even better, but that’s more like a wish.

Looking down that table last night at all those smiling faces…I realized that this writing thing I’m doing isn’t just for me. It’s for them. My stories are reflections of the things my family has been through, overcome, and laughed at. I couldn’t have done this without them and without the people I’ve met through my writing. Y’all all are the absolute best.

I hope to have more information in the next couple of weeks, such as publication dates and the like. I’m still kind of stunned, okay, I’m a lot stunned. *looks at the sky for the lightning bolt* To keep myself occupied, I’ve been working on the 3rd book in this series and hope to send it to them by today or tomorrow.

****UPDATE**** The first book in the Veil series, Ruby: Uncut and on the Loose will be released electronically in May 2011, print in October 2011. The second book in the Veil series, Succubus-in-Waiting will be released electronically in June 2011, in print November 2011. Yay!!!!

Oh! And tomorrow, my soon-to-be publishing house sister, Jillian Chantal, will be by for an author interview giveaway, and Fantasy Man Friday! Be sure to stop by!

37 Comments

Filed under publishing

37 responses to “Announcement Time

  1. OMG!! i’M TEARING UP HERE. So happy for you!! Welcome to the joy and the worry and the disbelief and the happiness and the…well, you get the idea. CONGRATS, baby. You so deserve it 🙂

  2. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!! The sound you hear way over in LA is me squeeeing in NW Fla!!! Go grrrl!!!!!

  3. staceyespino

    Another Siren sister! Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. YAY!!! So they took the first one, too- So excited for you. I’m thrilled to have you as a co-SirenBookStrand author. I’m glad you put it out there for us all to congrat you!! Jillian

  5. Woot!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m jumping up and down.

    I hear you on the “being gun shy”…been there, done that. After having a book cover and first round edits done only to have the plug pulled, I, too, would have waited like you did. But I’m glad you didn’t wait any longer, Danica. I’m so very excited for you.

    Enjoy the ride. Seriously. Have fun and celebrate. What a fantastic accomplishment. I’m so glad we all get to celebrate this with you!

  6. Huge congrats and hugs! I’m so happy for you! 🙂

  7. Congratulations and many, many sales to you!

  8. Woooot, baby! Congrats again! We’ll be sistas!

  9. J.A. Paul

    Awesome job Danica! Congratz and wishes of many boats in your family’s future!

  10. Congrats chica!!!! This is awesome news & you deserve it.

    Both books are going on my TBR list immediately.

  11. KAK

    Hot Frakkin’ Damn! I’m so happy for you! Cheers to being pubbed!

  12. YAY Danica!!!!!

    You deserve this so enjoy it!!! 🙂 I’m so happy for you!!!!

    *happy dancing* <– See? LOL

    Lisa 🙂

    PS – I just moved my blog to WordPress! I'm adding you to my links… 🙂 http://lisakessler.wordpress.com

  13. I saw the e-mail on FF&P and assumed there was something on your blog, too, so I had to come check it out. I’m so happy for you! I think I’d be feeling the same things you did, I know I did with my first request for a full. I can only imagine how much more intensified that would be if (when) it sells.

    Congrats!

    • You know me, have to give the long-winded version of every story, lol. *big hug* Thanks, Stacy! I was in utter shock and three days later I’m just starting to calm…if you can call this calm, lol

  14. I’m so happy for you!! I agree about the family and how all this hard work is for them! I had my first book signing a couple weeks ago with authors Anya Bast, Jules Bennett, Maddie James, Renee Vincent, LuAnn McLane, and I’m the only author who sold out all my books. . .to family!! It was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My dear sweet uncle started crying when I signed his book…sigh…

    • Aww, that’s so sweet! I know my family will buy the books…I just have to tell them where the love scenes are so they can skip them (or go straight to them), LOL. Thanks, Tonya!

  15. Wow, CONGRATULATIONS!!! I’m soooo excited for you. I can only imagine how you must feel. Please, keep us updated. I’ll be buying a copy, for sure!!!

  16. Well done Danica! I hope it’s the first of many sales for you and I’ll be looking out for your books in the very near future :))

  17. Danica, that is such AWESOME news!!! Congratulations… and now, breathe =)

  18. Pingback: Fantasy Man Friday & Author Interview: Jillian Chantal « Unearthly Musings

Leave a Reply

