Fight the Stereotype

I didn’t know what to blog about this morning. The weather is atrocious right now, but it’s supposed to clear up…eventually.

So I just had a moment of utter disbelief. A lady was trying to back out of her parking spot. Someone had parked behind her by several feet. Like six feet or so. She cut her wheel to the right and started to back out…then she pulled back in. If she would’ve kept going, she would have been fine. She tried to go in the other direction, stopping three feet away from the vehicle behind her. She pulled back in. Got out of the car, looked at the distance and tried the same move again.

Eventually, she got one of her male co-workers to back out and what did he do? He cut the wheel all the way to the right and pulled right out. I wanted to run down the steps and move the car myself because her inability to pull out of that parking spot when she had plenty of room just firmly proved the stereotype that women can’t drive.

This infuriates me to no end. No, I wouldn’t say that I’m the best driver there is, but I at least try my best not to prove those “superior” men right. I had a lot of practice backing out of tight spaces when I first started driving. My best friend’s yard was always packed with cars and if you wanted to get out,  you either had to ask everyone to move, or you had to learn how to manuever around those cars. I learned.

Now, I can’t parallel park to save my life. I can get pretty close if I’m under no pressure, but most of the time, I look for a spot I can just pull into. Luckily for me, there aren’t a lot of places around town where parallel parking is necessary. However, if I get stuck between two cars…well, I can get out. Trust me, I will get out.

I’m not saying you should back into someone’s car if they’re parked behind you, but look at all the angles and check the distance before you call the big, strong man in to move your car. Please? Pretty please? For me? It would make me sooo happy. And we all want me to be happy, don’t we?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Fight the Stereotype

  1. I’m laughing and laughing, Danica. This sounds like one of my stories!

  2. LOL!!! That’s why I don’t even try to park in tight areas. Seriously, I’ll park Way Far Away from where I’m going just to avoid things like this! LOL!!

  3. I promise never to call a man to get me out of a parking place. I’m a parking whiz, baby! I can parallel park on either side of the road in one second- Like that old tv show- “name that tune” – I can park in that space in one note! LOL!

  4. KAK

    Erf, parking. Never my strongest suit, but living in the city where your only hope of parking is parallel parking will force you to learn.

    It will also force you to resist pulling out a shot gun and blasting the rear window out of the idjit’s car slamming into yours because said idjit likes to think his SUV fits in the same slot as a Mini.

  5. So funny! That woman could have been *gasp* ME!

    I have problems judging distance – my depth perception is pretty bad. What is probably feet away, look like inches to me. So I make sure NOT to park in cramped spots or NOT to park when it looks like I won’t be able to back out properly. I know my inabilities.

    However, my inabilities drives my husband crazy and he’s been known to take over the wheel when it comes to tight squeezes. I find it’s better I let him, too!

    • And I make exceptions for people who have depth perception problems, or bad eye sight. I can understand that. But to just have no idea how to do it…I don’t know…I’m still shaking my head over that.

Leave a Reply

