Our Thanksgiving

Well, Happy Turkey Day to all of my fellow Americans, wherever you are. It’s time to stuff yourself with food, argue over dessert, search the sales papers and make your game plan for Black Friday before you pass out on the sofa in front of the television. Or is that just my family?

Actually, I’m leaving a lot out. Every year, no matter if the entire family is together or not, it’s always a circus. Three of our relatives live in Baton Rouge which is at least a 2 hour drive away. Every other year (usually), we’ll pile into cars to go to my uncle’s house where we hope to find Korean food waiting for us. Oh, and turkey and stuff. Sometimes, we’ll do Thanksgiving at my sister’s house, sometimes at my aunt’s house, and sometimes at our house. This year, we’re hosting.

Except the whole family won’t be there. My aunt and her brood of 3 daughters, 2 son-in-laws, and 3 grandchildren are staying home. My brother and his wife are spending Thanksgiving at her father’s hunting camp down the bayou, and my brother-in-law is offshore. But it isn’t like we’re going into this with a skeleton crew. Oh, no. We’ll have plenty of loud mouths to make it seem like the house is full.

Food is the primary goal here…my sister’s turkey, my mom’s roast, my uncle’s ham. I have a frozen pie and cookies. They’re lucky I have that much. I really shouldn’t have bought the pie though because it’ll only lead to staring.

See, my uncle -bless his heart- has no manners. He’ll cut a slice of apple pie and eat it with his hands. Full finger slurping. Probably the worse part of it is he sort of loses touch with reality when he’s eating his desserts. Like they’re so good, he astral projects to another plane of existence altogether. His eyes glaze over, but his hands never stop returning to his slice of pie and his jaws never stop moving. It’s…disturbing. And my nephews love to watch it.

Without the day being over, I already know we’re going to go through a pound of coffee (my uncles and mom can drink the stuff all day and will), old, embarrassing stories will be rehashed, politics and religion will be discussed (but since my cousin won’t be there, we won’t have a full-fledged argument), my godfather will talk about his bad leg and his money problems, my sister will make me put ESPN on, my nephew’s girlfriends will not talk, or look at each other, while making nice with everyone else, my nephews will mock everyone, and I’ll be praying for the day to end so I can curl up in my bed with a whimper of relief.

And then we’ll do it all over again for Christmas. Oh, the joys of the holidays. No, really. I’m thankful for my crazy family, otherwise I’d never have anything to blog about!

Happy Thanksgiving all. I hope you have a safe and marvelous holiday weekend!

3 Comments

Filed under Family

3 responses to “Our Thanksgiving

  1. I love your descriptions so much– I can see the pie guy- sounds very ugh! LOL! Enjoy the craziness, chica. Love ya. Jillian

  2. KAK

    bwahaha!

    Get the video clip of dessert ecstasy. Pleeeease? Pretty Please? I’ll even send a pie down for consumption!

    Have a great Thanksgiving, and thanks, as always, for the morning laugh.

Leave a Reply

