How Things Change

I’ve mentioned before how much music means to me. I have to have it playing at all hours of the day and night. I’m not entirely alone in that either. I remember when my grandfather was alive, I’d sneak into his room to sleep with him. Why do grandfather’s always have the most comfortable beds?

Anyway, he’d let me cuddle next to him and we’d fall asleep listening to his big band music. I can still remember the yellow glow of his stereo as it played Duke Ellington, Louis Armstrong, Cab Calloway, The Andrew Sisters, and the other bands I never knew the names of.

On those nights when I slept in my own bedroom (with it’s god-awful flower wallpaper…thanks Mom for making me despise flowers on walls), I’d wake up to my sister’s music. She graduated in 1987, so that should tell you her getting-ready-for-school routine took a long time. I’m not lying. She’d wake up at 5 in the morning and this is an example of what I’d hear:

At 5 in the morning, this is quite the wake-up call. My entire bedroom seemed to throb with the bass. I can still picture my sister flipping her hair over to make it bigger. Yeah, I was traumatized.

It didn’t end there though. By the time I was older, I couldn’t blare my music while I got ready: I had a younger brother I actually didn’t want to wake up because that meant I’d have to share the bathroom. Blegh. So I didn’t play my music while getting ready.

Of course when my brother started high school, I was in college and oh, how I loved late classes! I’d sleep in as long as I could which wasn’t long because that little big beast would blare his music. Is anyone else seeing a trend here? His music though, changed as he went through his high school years. It started off something like this:

Cause everyone needs to wake up with a hangover as German is being screamed through the house. It’s…fun. LOL Actually, I didn’t mind this so much. I’d recline in bed and sing along. It’s only when his music tastes changed that I started to have a fit. See, he went from techno-metal to this:

Don’t get me wrong, this is an amazing song. I like Gordon Lightfoot, honest! I just don’t want to wake up listening to it. And yes, I posted this particular Lightfoot song because it’s been stuck in my head for two days for some reason.

Now that it’s just me and mom at home, I don’t hear much of anything while getting ready. Oh, I’m sorry, I lie. I hear my dog whining and crying because she thinks I spend too much time getting ready when I could be doing something much more constructive…like getting her a treat.

I kind of miss the loud music waking me up in the morning. I don’t know that I miss sharing my bathroom with anyone though, so I suppose it’s a good trade-off.

Did you have siblings who woke you up with their music?

8 Comments

Filed under Family

8 responses to “How Things Change

  1. KAK

    “From the AP, UPI, and American Press Networks, the news is next on AFN. Beep. Beep. Beep. Beeeeeeeeep.”

    My sister was a big fan of current events in the AM, mostly to find out if we actually had school that day or if the bases were closed due to anticipated retaliatory bombing.

    Good times, good times.

    • LOL! We used to be like that during hurricane season, waiting to see if school would be closed due to a storm. Horrible, but true. Kids have no concept of how horrible things would be if what they hope to happen did.

  2. Have one sister and we’re only a year and 4 months apart so we always were up together. But I love music, too. Listen all the time! Even have a radio in the bathroom

  3. LOL. I so did NOT have a sister who played music or anything. Her alarm clock would go off FOREVER, though. LOL. It wasn’t music. It was that DARN BUZZER!!!!!!!!!!

    This was a fun post! Have a great WEDNESDAY, we’re halfway through the week. Woot!!!

  4. Siblings, no-children? YES!! I’m so tired of listen to Nelly’s “un, un’s”So what did I do today? TURNED UP THE CHRISTMAS MUSIC AT 5:30 AM!!!

    • LOL, that’s horrible! And yet, oh so clever! My best friend’s mom used to rouse us out of bed with her German polka rock early on Saturday mornings when I’d sleep over. I think that’s on the same page as Christmas music 😉

Leave a Reply

