Monday? Really?

The weekends never seem to last long enough. I actually didn’t do much this weekend, which is a good thing, I suppose, but that doesn’t mean I was ready for the work week to return. It’s a relief to know Thanksgiving is right around the corner. 4-day weekend! Yay!

So here we are again. It’s Monday and I’m supposed to get back to my NaNo WIP. Okay, so I should be writing nonstop, but I haven’t. I’m not terribly worried about it either. I know the story is there waiting to unfold, I just have to apply my mad typing skillz to get the words down on paper.

No, I spent the weekend re-reading JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood. I had to tear my bookshelves apart to find all the books, but once I did, I dove head first into the Ward’s world. I’ve read this series so many times, I know the order of the books by the color of the book covers. I can’t tell if that’s sad, or awesome. I’m going with awesome though, because who wants to be called sad?

I should’ve put this re-read off for a few more months until the next book in the series comes out, but I was desperate for something to read. When I’m between much awaited book release dates, I try to hold off buying. Truly, I need to win the lottery so I can indulge my book fetish, but unfortunately, money doesn’t grow on trees. Which sucks. Those money trees are false advertisement. Leaves come out, not the kind of green you can spend in the store. *sniff*

I really don’t have much to talk about this morning. My brain isn’t online yet and it probably won’t kick into gear until Thursday. That’s when I usually wake up with my game face on. Yeah, it takes me that long to get into the work groove. It doesn’t help that I woke up to the sky pouring buckets of rain. Who the hell wants to leave their bed with the rain pelting on the roof? Not me. Although I did have quite an interesting dream about my house springing leaks and me vowing to buy a new bed. Not sure what the two had to do with each other, but there you have it.

So in honor of the rain…I found a good song for us. No, sorry to disappoint, but it isn’t Milli Vanilli’s Blame It On The Rain. *snorts* This is much, much better!

I saw Shiny Toy Guns in concert at the House of Blues a few years ago and it was so worth it…even though the headlining band was…strange. Did I ever tell y’all about the cowbell player? Well, he played cowbell and sax…and in both cases he did this weird chicken dance with the instrument. He played his cowbell like he was on SNL and Christopher Walken was about to appear and demand more cowbell. I couldn’t take too much of it and bailed in the middle of their second song.

Um, am I rambling? I am. Sorry, y’all! It’s Monday morning! What else do you expect?

8 Comments

Filed under humor, JR Ward

8 responses to “Monday? Really?

  1. Great post. I like this song. I’ve never heard it. I had to snort, too, when you mentioned Milli Vanili….LOL!!!

    Happy Monday!

  2. You are definitely awesome! Never, never, never sad!

  3. I’m with Lynn (though I, of course, agree with sfcatty) – never heard of them and LOVE this song. Going to iTunes for We Are Pilots now!

  4. Never heard of Shiny Toy Guns. Milli Vanili, OMW, now that is a joke! 🙂

Leave a Reply

