We Salute You

Today is Veterans Day here in the U.S.

I’ll be honest with y’all. When I was in high school, we had to take that ASVAB test…not sure what that all stands for, but when the scores came in, I had phone calls from the Air Force and Navy. Yeah, they wanted me. I probably should have joined the service because I had no idea what to do with my life, except I have a small…problem or two.

First, I’m bossy as all hell. It’s one of my personality quirks. I like to give orders. Joining the service wouldn’t have been a bad thing if I was able to be a commander starting out. You know, ’cause I do like to tell people what to do. But knowing I’d go in as a lowly grunt (or whatever they’re called), wouldn’t have sat well with me.

Secondly…I’m oppositional defiant. I absolutely hate being told what to do. It grates on my nerves like nothing else. Just ask my mother or siblings. If you tell me what and how to do something, chances are I’ll do it my way or do the exact opposite. I’m not alone in this, my whole family has the same quirk. But these kinds of personalities probably don’t belong in the military.

These reasons are why I so strongly admire people who do serve our country. I’m a patriot (the American kind, not the New England kind) and I strongly believe in protecting our values and way of life. They put their civilian lives on hold to train, to fight, to defend. Regardless of their personality types, they’re out there risking their lives. Their service to our country proves their strength of will and determination. Our soldiers, past, present, and future deserve our admiration, our respect.

So be sure to tell a veteran “thank you” for preserving the freedom our country was built upon. Give them a hug for the sacrifices they’ve made for us. Salute them for putting their lives in danger in the name of democracy. They’re true heroes and we should honor them as such.

10 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

10 responses to “We Salute You

  1. AMEN!! I have the same issues – I would have to be the leader of the whole armed forces or I’d b e in the brig for insubordination!

    Proud of our vets!

  2. KAK

    Here, here! Three cheers to the men and women of the US Armed Forces (and those ‘civilians’ in the DoD).

    I come from a long line of Army guys. As a kid, I’d planned to go to West Point (when I wasn’t touring with my Broadway company). By the time I was a sophomore in HS, the hard dream-crushing reality hit me. If I wanted to Be All I Could Be, I’d have to…run. With gear. Run.

    I couldn’t make it around the track once without fainting.

    There went my chance to pen some new Jody calls.

  3. GREAT post. I’m so thankful for those who serve, because I know I could never. Happy Veterans Day!!!

  4. KAK – You crack me up! Because that’s exactly what I thought when I DID join (back in 1976). I thought I must be nuts. I couldn’t even do a push up! But the Army trained me well enough that I managed to pass the Physical Training (PT) test (even the running – I still HATE doing that). Of course, the test was a little more lenient for women back then. Not so sure I would muster up enough courage to do it now.

    I spent nearly 6 years in the Army and married a soldier who stuck with it for twenty years. It wasn’t the easiest life, but I’m still proud to have served.

Leave a Reply

