What I’ve Learned From Movies

This might sound strange, but every time I wash my hands, my brain flashes back to the hand washing scene in Pulp Fiction.

You remember the part, right? After Vincent accidentally shoots Marvin in the face, he and Jules are in the bathroom at Jimmy’s house washing their hands. Jules cleans his hands completely before drying them on one of Bonnie’s beautiful towels. When it’s Vincent’s turn, he barely washes his hands before drying them on a towel, getting the towel all bloody.

Every time I’m washing my hands, I scrub the hell out of them. No, I don’t have blood on them. I’m not trying to pull a Lady Macbeth or anything, but the minute my soapy hands hit the water, I think of Jules and Vincent.

But it doesn’t stop there. Oh, no, I really wish it did. There was a movie that came out in the 90’s called PCU (which stood for Port Chester University, or politically correct university). It wasn’t the greatest movie I ever saw, but since I was in college at the time, I thought it was hilarious. What did I take away from it? Well, probably the best piece of advice ever, which I’ve then shared with my younger relatives: Never wear the T-shirt of a band you’re going to see. Don’t be that guy.

It’s advice I hold close to my heart. Except now every time I go to a concert with my nephew, he has to point out every single person wearing the band’s T-shirt. I shake my head at them. Poor souls. If only they’d seen PCU.

Also, I’ll never go near a petting zoo (I apologize in advance to any children I may have). Thanks to Snatch, the last place I want to be is near pigs. I don’t know if this little gem of information is true or not, but in my mind, it may as well be: a single pig can consume two pounds of uncooked flesh every minute. Hence the expression, “as greedy as a pig”. Thanks, Brick Top…now I’ll never go near another live pig again.

There are so many more examples, but my brain is still stuck on man-eating pigs. Does this remind you much of the man-eating deer I had a fit about this summer? Yeah, well we’re going to add pigs to the list of nightmares I have.

What have you learned from the movies?

10 Comments

Filed under humor

10 responses to “What I’ve Learned From Movies

  1. LOL, man-eating pigs! OMW- I love this. I’m afraid I haven’t seen any of these movies. I know, I know. Not even Pulp Fiction. Well, I think I watched pieces of it. Anyway, not sure what I’ve learned from movies. I tend to learn more from characters in books. Of course, right now I can’t think of any.

  2. KAK

    I’ve learned:
    1) Martinis should be shaken not stirred
    2) Basements are the last place you should go when you suddenly lose power
    3) When your car breaks down, don’t stop at the house of the Sweet Transvestite from Transsexual Transylvania.

    • But wait…why wouldn’t you want to stop there? Frank -n- Furter was the greatest! I’ll have to disagree with you on that last one, Kristy. The other two, most definitely work. Oh, and I’ll even add another: if you have to wear heels at all times, be sure you can run in them so you don’t fall when you’re being chased by a monster and end up dead.

  3. GURRLL – You are so warped!!! Love it.

  4. I’ve definitely learned how a movie is a great tool for breaking down and following the same pattern when writing my novels.

Leave a Reply

