A Long Way To Go

There’s nothing quite like Jerry Reed singing about The Bandit. Oh sure, it’s about driving, but there’s a line in this song that makes me think of NaNoWriMo. “We gonna do what they say can’t be done, we got a long way to go and a short time to get there…” To be honest, this should be the theme song for NaNo.

It’s only the second day and I already feel the pressure. My mind is constantly flipping through possible scenarios surrounding the very vague plot I have for the story I’m working on. I’m not on the verge of pulling my hair out or anything, not yet at least. However, I do feel the pressing need to write, to make my word count (whatever mysterious number it is).

I know I said I’d only write about it once a week, but since it is the beginning and since I was at a loss for something to write about today, I chose NaNo again. Oh!! And I just had an idea for my story. See? This is why blogging is good. It pushes your thoughts in different directions and next thing you know, you’ve figured something out you didn’t even realize you were pondering. Go me!

So is anyone else feeling the pressure? Should we nominate this song as the NaNoWriMo 2010 Official Theme Song?

10 Comments

Filed under Writing

10 responses to “A Long Way To Go

  1. LOL. I say yes, let’s make this the theme. LOL!!!

    Don’t worry too much, Danica. Like you said. You wrote 80k in September…50k is doable. Write on, sista!

    • I sometimes feel like Meg Ryan’s character Kate in You’ve Got Mail. You know when she’s on the verge of tears and saying, “I will prevail!” or something like that. We can do it!

  2. OMG! Not one of my favorite songs, but it’s catchy and now its gonna be an earworm for me all day long. Thanks a bunch!
    But seriously, that is a perfect quote — I may put it in my signature for the month of November!!!

  3. yep- good song choice AND you are way ahead of me so no time to despair yet.

  4. KAK

    I fully support this as the official NaNo song *if* we get a clip of you doing the Bandit’s laugh.

    ~fleeing~

  5. You can do this!!! GO Danica Go!

Leave a Reply

