Costumes, People!

Today starts the first day of Horror Music week. The music I’ll be torturing exposing you to isn’t necessarily “horror” music, so much as either videos with really good costumes/masks, or with a Halloween type theme.

First on the list is a group called Lordi. Now, I’ll admit, I don’t know much about them. The only reason I’ve heard of them is from a friend I used to play a RPG with when I was in college. He’s really into horror movies and shock rock, I suppose it would be called.

We were discussing costumes for Halloween several years ago and he said he was going to try to recreate the costume of the lead singer of this band. Well, I had to find out what he was talking about, didn’t I? Imagine my surprise when I saw this:

It’s not a bad song, actually, and who wouldn’t want undead cheerleaders? The costumes are elaborate and repulsive. I don’t think I’d ever want to see them in concert though. Could you imagine what kind of antics they’d get up to?

From a writer’s standpoint, this wouldn’t be a bad idea to follow if I were a young adult author. The isolated, outcast teenage girl becoming the leader of a squad of undead cheerleaders and the havoc she would wreak upon the school. MUHUHAHA (Cause you have to have an evil laugh.) Actually, I wouldn’t have minded something similar when I was in high school. I wasn’t the outcast, but I wasn’t overly fond of high school. In fact, I really hated high school.

Have you ever heard of this band? What do you think of the costuming, and the undead cheerleaders?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Costumes, People!

  1. Never heard of them. Thanks for this- it was cool!

  2. OMW. I’ve never heard of them either, and I think I’m gonna have nightmares now. Thanks a lot.

    LOL

    Yikes. Creepy group…but yeah, perfect for Halloween.

  3. Never heard of them AND I don’t think I’ll be putting that on my ipod anytime soon:) Well…maybe I could play it for the trick-and-treaters….

Leave a Reply

