Worth A Howl

I’m starting to come to the conclusion that my dad is a sick man. First it was Halloween 2 and Nightmare on Elm Street. Then, it was Silver Bullet. Silver Bullet came out in 1985, but once again, I didn’t see it until later. In fact, I didn’t see it until 1988. I was twelve and spending the weekend at his house. They popped this movie into the VCR (remember those?) and I settled in to watch it.

First let me mention that I had a mega-huge crush on Corey Haim. I thought he was just so cute (I was 12!) and when I saw he was in this movie, I was all about watching it. Gary Busey was in it as well and for some reason I always thought of him like a relative. Probably because he reminded me of my godfather.

Anyway, we watched this movie on a Sunday afternoon. The sun was shining and the house was well-lit, but it may as well have been pitch dark out because I was scared to death.

I hope you’ve seen this movie because it’s very good. I didn’t know it was written by Stephen King at the time I watched it. Anyway, it was a beautiful day and I was cuddled up on the edge of the sofa my eyes glued to the television. The discovery that the pastor was the werewolf shocked me to my toes. I held my breath towards the end when Corey Haim’s character, Marty, his sister, and uncle confront the werewolf. He’s shot by Marty with a silver bullet and falls to the floor.

Cue the victory dance, right? I was relieved it was over, but damn my naive self! I should have known there was more to it than that. Oh, I know better now. The camera zoomed on the werewolf as he changed back to its human form. Everything was quiet. Then the damn man jumped towards the camera and at the exact same moment, my dad grabbed my arm with a roar.

I screamed like a little girl. Oh man, my heart nearly jumped out of my chest. I was so mad at him! I was 12…only kids scream for movies and…okay, I was totally embarrassed, lol. I can laugh about it now, but back then…man, I wanted to crawl under the sofa and die.

To be honest, most of the movies I don’t like are the ones where things jump out at you. I saw a movie with my brother and his wife last year and there was a scene where you just know something’s in the medicine cabinet. Of course the heroine opens the cabinet and nothing’s there. Then you know someone’s going to be standing behind her. She closed the cabinet door, no one in the mirror. She turns to walk away…then opens the medicine cabinet again and BOO! I screamed out a foul word. *cough* Mind you, I was the only one in the theater to say anything. Everyone laughed, but after that moment, I was fine. Everyone else jumped through the rest of the movie. Yeah…you can’t take me anywhere.

So have you seen Silver Bullet? Do you like movies that make you jump and scream?

8 Comments

Filed under humor

8 responses to “Worth A Howl

  1. Have not only not seen it- never heard of it- How weird is that?

  2. I haven’t seen this!!! OMG, I’m not sure I can after you told me about that jumping out at you thing. . . . I HATE that! LOL!!!

  3. I never saw Silver Bullet and I’m a huge Stephen King fan!

    But I hate movies with things that jump out. I scream EVERY TIME! I also hate it when I go to a movie and someone knows there will be a scene like that and grabs me just as it happens (i.e. with Alien – I think I bruised the guy).

    • LOL yes, I don’t tend to enjoy movies like that either. I much prefer being scared without all the jumping. This is probably why I’ve never been to a haunted house, lol

  4. No I haven’t seen it and I WONT!!!! Sounds a little toooo much for me. Once I took a couple of my boys to this haunted house the deaf school puts on. Of course it was the scariest haunted house I’ve ever been to and my boy’s first. Needless to say, since the deaf kids put it on-the noise level was crazy high. The banging, chainsaws etc… my 11yo was freaking out and I continued to say “Jack it’s okay.” WELL, one of the teachers told all the deaf kids that ‘jack was scared’ so they all started to chant his name throughout this haunted house. Talk about creepy! It was ten minutes long and now I have two boys who HATE Halloween.

    • LOL poor Jack! I haven’t been to a haunted house, mostly because I’m afraid of what my reaction would be. I suppose one day I’ll have to go…like when I need to take a stress test or something 😉

Leave a Reply

