They’re Here…

It came out in 1982, but I didn’t see it right away. Maybe my mom had learned a lesson by then. You know, after the Halloween 2-I-can’t-sleep-in-my-own-bed month (or two) I went through.

I didn’t see Poltergeist until 1985, 1986. I would have been nine or ten. I remember very well how flippin’ scary this movie was. I used to have one of those monkeys with the cymbals…you know, you wind them up and they bang ’em together. I never went near that toy again after watching this movie.

What was so scary about this movie, anyway? Was it because you had a normal family that seriously picked the wrong location to build a house? Was it because Carol Anne looked so cute and innocent and she was the focal point of the poltergeist? (I was cute and innocent, and I just knew those things were coming after me next!) Was it that lady who “cleaned” the house? Whatever the hell it was, this was a movie that made me afraid anytime the television went to snow.

I can’t say that I remember any particular instances where I had nightmares about this movie, or crawled into bed with someone else because it scared me, but my mind goes back to it frequently. Maybe because I think my aunt had/has a poltergeist in her house. No, seriously, I think she did/does.

Things always happened in this house. One night my brother and I went to sleep over while my uncle was offshore. I was about twelve, my brother and two cousins were between 5 and 6. We heard this noise coming from the ceiling. It went in a circular pattern (her house is a ranch type) from the hallway to the kitchen to the living room to the hallway, over and over again. My aunt was 24 at the time. She grabbed all of us, the phone (dragging the 50′ cord), and we all stayed in one room that night. We listened to whatever it was limp around the house for hours. When they went up to check thinking it might’ve been an injured squirrel, nothing was there. The old man who owned the house before her though, used to have a wheelchair or a walker. *shivers* But that wasn’t all!

For instance, my aunt and her husband were relaxing in their living room. She was on one sofa, he was on another. There was a tube of chapstick on the entertainment center against the wall between the two sofas. While they were watching a movie, my uncle shouted, “Hey, why’d you throw that at me?” My aunt looked to see him holding out the chapstick. *cue scary music*

Later on, one of my cousins was home alone. She was in the shower when she heard what sounded like someone beating on the siding of the house. She called her mom who called several neighbors to check if there was someone running around the house to scare her. There was no one there, but the sounds followed her through the house until she ran outside.

Not long after that, my aunt and her friend were sitting at her dining room table. The dining room/kitchen were separated from the laundry room and garage by a light wooden door. While they sat at the table, my aunt thought she heard someone at the door. Since our family members generally used this door to go over to visit, she called out “Come in!”. No one entered, but then the door started shaking, the knob turned and rattled. No one ever entered the door.

My aunt still lives in this house, by the way, but the occurences have stopped. Well, they had stopped for a while. Things have begun happening again. The question is, is it the ghost of the old man who once owned the house, or is it a poltergeist?

What are your thoughts? Have you seen this movie? Does the part with the long hallway freak you out too?

13 Comments

Filed under Family

13 responses to “They’re Here…

  1. I think I’ve already shared the whole blanket over my head thing with you, but to this day, I can’t watch that movie without dipping back to my old habit. My husband laughs. I’m not quite sure it’s funny.

    • My aunt and sister used to fight for who would stick their heads under our grandfather’s shirt. I don’t know why it was the shirt, but they both did it. Me, I was more of a cover my eyes girl. My brother, when he’s scared, will grab other people’s limbs to cover his face.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention They’re Here… « Unearthly Musings -- Topsy.com

  3. OMG. OMG. This movie scared me, bigtime. I can’t remember when I first saw it. . . but OMG, I remember being so scared. Every time the TV hit a static channel I freaked. Oh, and that little girl. . . she was such a good actress, made it even more scary.

    Ahhh

  4. yep! This was a scary one- for sure. Hated that woman’s voice!

  5. KAK

    Two unforgettable voices were Heather O’Rourke and Zelda Rubenstein (R.I.P to both). In two words either of them could send shivers down my spine.

    I was twenty-something by the time I hatched the balls to finally watch (most) of this movie.

    “Don’t do that, honey. You don’t want to see mommy lying in a cigar box covered with licorice.” — Diane

  6. My grandfather’s last project before he died was fixing a chronic leaking toilet that used to keep him up at night. We came home the day of his funeral and the whole place was flooded!

    Does this count? Doesn’t have the same ring to it, does it?

    Never could watch that movie all the way through.

  7. See? While I never saw Nightmare on Elm Street, I did see Poltergeist (1 and 2). Yes, they scared the crap out of me, but I still loved them!

    I don’t know if your Aunt has a poltergeist or just a ghost. My grandmother’s house (in Los Angeles) was haunted. One night hats started flying out of the closet and my grandfather thought my grandmother was in there, but no one was in there. Voices could be heard in the kitchen at night, and no one would be in there. And her windows (which had to be pushed up to open) would open by themselves. My grandmother called her EthelBeth. I hated spending the night alone in that house. But for some reason, that never stopped me from reading horror or watching scary movies!

    • I know the feeling. I still watch them even though I still flip out a bit over them. It’s that whole “What if it’s real” factor that drives me. I think. I could also just be sick 😉

Leave a Reply

