Dating Yourself

I don’t mean that you should buy yourself flowers and take yourself out to dinner and a movie, although sometimes that might not be a bad idea. No, I’m talking about dating yourself by revealing something that tells everyone how old you are.

It started off simple enough. I was driving home from work and heard a song. This song to be exact:

When I got home, I was talking with my sister-in-law who’s 2 years younger than me, my brother who’s 6 years younger than me, and my cousin who’s 17 years younger than me (meh, that hurts to say). Anyway, I mentioned this song. The first time I heard it, I was in my very first semester in college riding around in my sister’s Camry with my best friend and one of her friends. We pumped up the bass, rolled down the windows, opened the sunroof and jammed.

We knew all the words to the song and sang them loudly and badly. Especially the line I know what Bo don’t know. In mentioning this to my sister-in-law, we started talking about the amazing Bo Jackson. My cousin…my very young cousin, piped up with: Who’s Bo Jackson?

We were aghast. How could she not know Bo Jackson? I mean…he was BO JACKSON! We rushed to fill in the details explaining that he was the first athlete to become an All-Star football player and baseball player. He was…awesome! Everyone knew Bo Jackson if not from sports, then from the Nike commercials.

It wasn’t until we’d filled her head with all of this information that she looked at us and said, I wasn’t born until 1994…Teenagers are so impossibly snarky.

Shee-yeah, okay…we all shut up because how can you argue with that? Man. It made us all feel old. Oh sure, we know we’re not spring chickens anymore, but still, it didn’t seem that long ago!

On another note, the Hot Stepper song was used in the very fabulous movie Pret-A-Porter (Ready to Wear). I love this movie. Simply love it. It was so…weird and funny. I have to buy it now *sigh*. I suppose this movie might have been a precursor to my infatuation with Project Runway becuase as I’ve mentioned before, I am so not a fashionista. I shop Saks Fifth Avenue for my characters, picking things I’d see them in, but I can only dream of wearing clothes from there.

Now I’m off to shop for my heroine (who is a clothes whore) and pretend I’m not approaching the years when I start saying something like, When I was your age…

Mais, that’s not gonna be pretty!

Have you dated yourself recently?

10 Comments

Filed under humor

10 responses to “Dating Yourself

  1. OMG, this is hysterical. Yeah…I have a few teens I kinda “mentor” for lack of a better word. I’ve had this a couple times. . . they’re like, “what song is this?” and it’s, like, Journey or something.

    I just have to chuckle. 🙂

    • I always get a kick out of it when the younger generation “discovers” the classic bands like Journey and The Cure. They act like they’re the only ones who know about them. Tsk. If only they knew.

  2. Interestingly enough, I was talking to an 18 year old a few years ago about the song “wish you were here” and I said “you know the band that sings that? I was at a concert a few weeks ago and loved it. I can’t think of the name.”

    She asked, “Pink Floyd?”

    I said, “no. no. It’s a newer band. The lead singer is cute- his name is Brandon.”

    She gaped at me and said “YOU MEAN INCUBUS??”

    I said, “yeah, that’s it!”

    She said, “you get extra points for thinking Brandon is cute!”

    So, who dated whom?? LOL!

  3. KAK

    LOL, totally dated myself yesterday. IMing with a friend, we bemoaned our tired states. I told her to reach for the Vivarin. She asked if they even made that stuff anymore.

    For you whippersnappers, that’s how we pulled all-nighters before the advent of Red Bull.

    Ya know, while we were sippin’ on our Zimas and Jumpin’ Around with the House of Pain.

    ~sigh~

    • OMG, Vivarin! I haven’t heard of that since college! We never took any. We’d drink pot after pot after pot of coffee and mock our professors to stay awake. It worked, but sucked when you had finals. Kids have it so easy now. Do you realize my nephew’s college history exam was multiple choice? We used to have actually write everything out!!

  4. I recently ran across an early photo of my then-intended, stark naked from the rear, foraging in the refrigerator. He dutifully looked up before I snapped the camera, and I got his bedroom eyes, because he used to run to food after a morning of making love. What I also captured was the LOVE sign (the square one that has LO on top and VE on the bottom) hanging on the wall, next to a bouquet of some herbal supplement.

    My daughter (grown) saw it, and exclaimed, “Mom! What’s that?” to which I answered, “Why, it’s your Father.”

    Did I do that? I’d forgotten.

    • ROFL I would die if I came across a picture like that of my parents. It’s bad enough going through the family album to see that my dad had taken an “accidental” picture of my mom’s legs when they were dating.

  5. I’ve never called it dating myself, but I do take time during the week to get some alone time. I will go to my favorite boutiques and look around after I grab a cup of coffee. Or I’ll browse a bookstore. Every other Friday I meet with my crit. group and that’s a big treat! Then the off Fridays I meet with two dear friends.

Leave a Reply

