A Little Privacy Here!

I value my privacy. You’d never guess that, huh? Cause I tell y’all everything going on in my life. But that’s because I consider y’all friends and I know you won’t judge me…right? *snorts*

However, as I’ve gotten older, my privacy has become something I’m almost paranoid about and some people just don’t understand that. It might not even be “privacy” I like, so much as my space. Oh, I love my space…not to be mistake with MySpace (which I truly don’t like, virus infested site that it is). Space. Ah! Glorious space. Except I have none.

It starts at home. I’ve mentioned before that I have two cats and one dog. Oh and a mother. I love all four, but sometimes, I just want to be left alone. Really! It doesn’t happen though. If I go outside for a smoke and a little quiet, the dog will come with me. She has to come with me if only to climb in my lap and sleep. Le sigh. Then Mom will show up and with her comes the old evil cat. She wants to talk. My mom, not the cat. I just want some quiet time. She gets upset with me because I’m not talking to her. I’m reading (said with a sneer and a glare). If my brother stops by, like he did this morning, the conversation will go like this:

Bro: Hey, what’s up?

Mom: Not much, baby. At least you talk to me.

Me: Are we really doing this again?

Bro: Hey, she sees you all the time, why does she need to talk to you?

Me: Exactly!

It isn’t like I don’t want to talk to her, but after about five hours of chatting, I really don’t have much left to say. I can’t talk about my writing because she’ll say something like, “Well maybe you need to stop writing about those vampires and werewolves and stuff. Can’t you just rewrite your stories?” God love her.

Then there’s the inside lack of space. If I try to retreat to the bathroom for anything, I’m followed by the young cat and the dog. The dog apparently has an imaginary leash that forces her to follow me. The cat just likes to catch me on the toilet because, let’s face it, I’m a captive audience. I can’t even shower alone. No, she must race me to the bathroom, sit on the counter and stare at me around the shower curtain. When I go to grab shampoo or soap or face wash on the caddy, her little paw snakes out and tries to catch my hand. Why? Because she wants me to pet her! Gah!

Now for the public stage…I don’t like stores because I don’t like people crowding me. I’m not claustrophobic, but I don’t really enjoy people in my space. I remember one time I was trying to pay for my purchases. This lady stood right behind me, less than a foot behind me while I was trying to put my PIN number in the machine. I snarled, “Could I have a little room here?!” She took half a step back. That meant I had to huddle over the machine so she couldn’t get my number and steal the money I don’t have in my account.

I just don’t get how some people have no clue about personal space. I mean, friends and family are allowed closer to me than others (and hot men are almost always welcome to get up close and personal) but if I don’t know you, could you give me some breathing room? I can’t tell the cats and dog this because they just look at me like I’m stupid. My mom, bless her heart, just wants to invade my audio space.

How about you? Are you a space invader, or do you have force fields that protect you from those space invaders? Do you have pets who watch your every move like I would if Gerard Butler suddenly started stripping in front of me?

13 Comments

Filed under humor

13 responses to “A Little Privacy Here!

  1. I am repeatedly accused of being mean about company. My family screams at me all the time, “Well, we can tell when we’re not wanted.” and internally I’m screaming back, “You’re right, because I didn’t invite you over.” I totally get this. Keep the space. It’s precious.

    • OMG, Rachel…are you my twin? Because that is exactly what happens with me! My family drops in unexpectedly all the time…which I suppose means I should expect them since they do it so much…huh. Must think about that.

  2. LOL! Great post. Yeah, I’m so not a space invader. I’m with you, Danica. Crowds do freak me out a little bit more than they should. I get really anxious when I’m betting bumped around on all sides. I’m so NOT a state fair type of person, for sure. LOL.

    It’s just me and my sweet hubby and our two dogs. It’s been that way for 14 years now, and I love it. Sometimes we’ll sit next to each other in our side-by-side lounger chair, TV on, and say nothing for over an hour. Just sitting together is enough. 🙂

    • Yes! I totally get that. I don’t need to talk all the time, but some people make me feel like I have to and I hate that. One of my best friends was someone I could just sit and not talk with. I miss him dearly, but he had to go and get married *snort*

  3. I was thinking about what I was going to say then you had to write about Gerard Butler and all other thoughts were lost. Liking that visual =)

  4. Doug Oldfield

    My family refers to my ability to avoid people as my anti-social skills. I don’t consider myself anti-social so much as not wanting strangers all up in my face. I don’t live with my mom but she calls me every day several times a day. Ninety percent of the time it’s while I’m eating lunch. She’s always had a great sense of timing. “Loved your entry”, he says from an appropriate distance.

    • Thanks for commenting, Doug. I’ve blogged about the telephone calls at meal times already. No matter what time I sit down to eat, SOMEONE is going to call. Glad I’m not the only one this happens to.

  5. Pingback: The Gift of Anti Social Skills | Are We There Yet?

  6. Being an empath, I have to have my space. I like people but I can’t have all that touchy stuff cause I take on their angast- so, take a memo- if you gotta hug me, be happy when you do it or I may be depressed the rest of the day if you were.

  7. KAK

    One word: Recluse

    ~aaaaaaah~

Leave a Reply

