Bad Things Happen to Good People

Originally, I was all about posting some stuff about this band called Apocalyptica, but then I had a visit from one of my co-workers. She’s a sweet lady, one of the most positive and upbeat people I’ve ever met. She’s a mess today.

See, she’s had a bad year. A very, very bad year. Back in April, her son became sick and after extensive testing, it was found that he had a brain tumor. He’s three. He was in Children’s Hospital for weeks while the doctors tried to decide how to remove the tumor, what kind of tumor it was, etc. Luckily, it came back as benign and they were able to remove the entire tumor, but it doesn’t end there.

As with most of us middle-class workers, she and her husband work hard to make ends meet. He has two teenage daughters from his first marriage, and they have their little boy. The medical bills alone are staggering. We took up a collection at work for them because we all love her and her husband. They’re the kind of people who will do anything for you, cheer you up and make you laugh, and they’re just generally great, great people.

For about two months, she’s been talking about getting an appraisal on her house (bought maybe 4 years ago) because they want to do improvements. Well, last week, they noticed something that gave them grave concern. They suspected mold. Yesterday she took off of work because an environmental company was coming to check out her house to take samples and the like.

It’s black mold. I’ve never in the four years I’ve worked with her, seen this woman cry, but she just stood in my office and sobbed. Why? Why do these horrible things keep happening to her family? They’re a family of five trying to live in their living and dinning rooms. Her son just had brain surgery and is scheduled for a check-up in a couple of weeks, he’s also supposed to be starting Pre-3 next week at a very good school that requires tuition. Again, why?

I felt inadequate because what is there to say other than “I’m so sorry”? I wish I could just rip down the walls myself, but I can’t. I wish I could hand her a few grand and tell her to pay her insurance deductible and not to worry about it. Instead, all I can do is tell her something my mom has told us after every tragedy our family has gone through: God never gives us more than we can handle. Apparently God thinks my co-worker can handle a lot and she probably can. It’s astonishing what people can do when they have no other choice.

That doesn’t mean it’s any easier. And then you have to look at people who make no effort to be good and decent, who lay about thinking they’re owed something simply because they’re alive, and you wonder why. Why do good people have to suffer? Is it because it makes them better people? My aunt and uncle lost both of their children. BOTH of their children, one at age 4 and the other at 22, yet they’re still the kindest people you’ll ever meet.

What makes some people experience problems that turn them bitter and full of hate, but other people kinder, more loving? I suppose it’s one of the great mysteries of life that we’ll never solve, but that doesn’t stop my need to ask WHY?

I know this isn’t my usual blogging subject and if you were in a wonderful mood, this might’ve even laid you low for a bit and for that I’m sorry. However, I just wanted to get as many people as I could to pray and think positive thoughts for this family. You don’t know them, but they are wonderful people who deserve a rest from trouble.

Now I’m getting off my soapbox and going to do some research on programs that might help them. Y’all have a good day!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Bad Things Happen to Good People

  1. Thats horrible! I feel so bad and want to help somehow. My sister in law had to go through chemo about a year and a half ago. Her medical insurance had just ran out and she was stuck with hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of bills. The hospitals have advocates that are there who help families with insurance but not enough to cover everything. depending on the amount vs. income she may qualify to get assistance there. Please let her know to look into that, every little bit helps

    . Also, isn’t there something Red Cross, or her medical insurance, or government funding can help with the cost of mold? Her son’s health is in perial and with his tumor just being removed maybe his doctor can help get the medical insurance company to do something also. But I’d look into government grants(seems like I’ve heard something about mold). Or and this isn’t something you see everyday but what about sending challenges out to local homebuilders to see who can help the family the most, it’s great publicity in a time where home builders need all the help they can get.

    • That’s exactly the kind of help I need to help her, Sayde. I’m almost positive I’ve heard of organizations or grants that help with this problem, I just have to find them. That’s also a great idea about the medical insurance. I’ll talk to her about it when she’s a little more calm.

  2. Wow. Thanks for sharing this story. It’s so sad. That saying is true–that He never gives us more than we can handle–but it’s hard to see that while going through it sometimes, isn’t it? She’s lucky to have a friend like you!

  3. KAK

    If only we could employ the magic used in our books to bring some ease to a friend in need…

  4. Stories like this one make me incredibly sad. We certainly don’t understand “why,” and to add to the cliches, “life is not fair.” Much strength and good fortune for your friend.

Leave a Reply

