A Rose By Any Other Name…

This weekend was spent attending a Scentsy party for my sister-in-law followed by her housewarming/birthday party, then a whole day of recovering from too much wine. I’m still in pain today, though I can actually move and think as opposed to sitting like a painful bump on a log.

The Scentsy party was given by my 16-year-old cousin. It was her first time and she was justifiably nervous, even though she knew everyone attending. You’re probably asking where I’m going with this. Well, see, my cousin’s name is Angela but she hates her name. She hates it so much that she goes by Lynn, which is her middle name. You think I’m joking? Her mom went to open house last year at school and the teacher went on and on about Lynn. Yes, the child has her teachers calling her Lynn instead of Angela.

I had to think about this because I hated my name, too. As most of you already know, my real name is Stephanie. My mom is quite put out that I’ve decided to go with a pseudonym. In fact, I’d even go so far as to say she’s mildly insulted. But should she be? Probably not. I’ve had issues with my name since I was 5.

There’s one story in the family that goes something like: I came home from school crying. When asked what was wrong, I told my mom that I wish my name was Amy because it only had THREE letters. Stephanie has NINE. Of course, she thought that was so cute. It was just the beginning. I also had a lisp. I couldn’t even say my own name! Oh sure, I bet it was just so adorable. (It was me after all.)

So when I went with the pseudonym, I had to find something that wasn’t too long, was easy to pronounce (not because I have a lisp now, mind you), and looked/sounded professional. I chose Danica because I liked the name, the meaning, and it was easy for me to write. Avet was actually the last name of one of the first boys I had a crush on, but I only realized that after I’d chosen it. Maybe part of me was still in puppy love with him? I don’t know. It doesn’t matter now though. I like it. Danica Avet.

Because of this, I suppose I have no right to torment my cousin about disliking her name, but I am her older cousin, which means that’s what I’m required to do. I’m pretty sure it’s in the contract I signed.

So how about you? Do you like your name? Do you wish you had been named something else?

7 Comments

Filed under Family

7 responses to “A Rose By Any Other Name…

  1. When I was a child, Rachel was not the most popular name in school, and back then the teachers weren’t as accomodating to my dislike of the name. I wanted to go by my middle name Alana, which I have now decided to make my pen name. I think it is great that the teacher is allowing her to use a name she is more comfortable with! I wonder, did I become a writer just so that I could change my name???Hmmm….it has merit. 🙂

  2. I have always liked Superwoman myself….

  3. KAK

    I have a pretty common name that lends itself to assorted nicknames, which served me well enough through the identity-crises years known as puberty. Save for eighth grade when nine of us took over the class, so I picked another name to help out the frazzled teachers.

    Downside, I had a hell of a time remembering who I was supposed to be and ended up being the one who got the evil eye whenever I was supposed to speak.

    These days, I stick with the hairball-sounding initials.

  4. Yeah, I guess I like my real name (Sheri) but Lynn Rush just flows better in the writing world. It’s going on two years I’ve been going by Lynn Rush, it kinda just feels normal now. It is my middle name, as well. . . . fun post!!

Leave a Reply

