My Dream Was Interrupted

I complained about this yesterday on Facebook.

Saturday, when I lost the thread of my story, I decided to take a nap. Now normally naps are anywhere from 30 minutes to 2 hours. This is different from my powernaps. Powernaps are taken only during working hours and last maybe 15-20 minutes. Why is this important? Well…

For the most part, I don’t dream when I nap. I have to have a good sleep going to fall into a dream state, but I must have been more tired than I realized Saturday because almost as soon as I fell asleep, I was dreaming. It’s what I was dreaming about that was fascinating. You see, I dreamed I was part of a police investigation in France. I’ve never been to France. Even better, the crime happened on a train. I’ve never been on a train either. And like icing on the cake, the detective interviewing me was this guy:

This is Olivier Martinez. I’m sure those of you who’ve seen Unfaithful recognize him. I didn’t recognize him. I’ve only ever seen him in Blood and Chocolate and that was years ago. So why did he appear in my dream? I haven’t seen any movie previews in a while, I didn’t even know his name to be honest, but there he was in amazing Technicolor.

By the way, he didn’t look like this in my dream. He was more scruffy, broody, and oh so hot. No, no I’m not going into detail about what happened…mostly because he just talked to me in that French accent and brooded at me. It was lovely! It was like being a heroine in my very own romantic suspense. *swoon*

So you can about imagine how disappointed I was when the dream was cut off abruptly. Yup, I woke up. Or rather, I was rudely interrupted by my dog barking at whoever was knocking on the front door. I stumbled out of bed, shuffled through the house and flung the door open. I’m pretty sure I was a scary sight with my hair sticking up all over the place and a baleful glare in my eyes. Luckily it wasn’t Gerard Butler or that cute UPS guy. No, it was my aunt and cousin.

It’s been three days. You’d think I would be over it, but I’m not. My brain keeps sending me flashes of the dream (mostly Mr. Martinez’s face) when I least expect it. I can only suspect it’s because I didn’t have closure in the dream, you know, like solved the crime, caught the suspect, kissed Olivier (cause we’re on a first name basis now that he’s appeared in my dreams), that kind of thing.

Now, my only other complaint is…where exactly is Gerard Butler? Shouldn’t he be the one starring in my dreams? Naughty man. I suppose when he finally shows up, I’ll have to spank him.

Have you had any interrupted dreams lately? What do you usually dream about? Is Gerard showing up in your dreams? Cause if he is, tell him I expect him to be on time tonight.

6 Comments

Filed under humor

6 responses to “My Dream Was Interrupted

  1. I hate being woken up like that (dog barking)–it puts me in a fowl mood.

    I know they say you dream every night…but really, it just doesn’t seem like I do very often. Once in a while I’ll get a good dream going, but not often.

    Maybe Gerard will visit your dreams again soon….

  2. Ok- this is how I get my story ideas a lot of the time- if you can’t get it out of your head, you must start wrting it. Really!

  3. Hmmm…maybe you need to write a book about this plot. That is exactly what happened with my current cozy!

Leave a Reply

