21st Century Digital Girl

Or woman.

I have a confession to make. I think I’m a technophile. Or maybe not. Maybe I’m just adjusting to the changing times? As it is, I’ve just realized that I’m surrounded by my own…geekiness.

First of all, let me explain: when I say geekiness, I don’t mean I can take a computer apart and put it back together. If I take it apart, it’s because I dropped it on the floor while dusting. I can’t make a website using nothing but HTML and a cup of Java…or is Java a script? I don’t know, don’t ask! I power up computers and use the programs I need. I don’t add anything to them except my music, stories and pictures. Capice? If I have a problem with my computer, I call my mom. She loves fidgeting, which she calls “fixing”, with them.

Okay, so let me explain my techonomania. Every morning I come to work, I have a small…briefcase kind of thing. Okay, it’s more like a tote (but briefcase sounds more important). In it is my purse – because I hate it and don’t want to see it. In the side pocket of my…tote, is my personal cell phone, my MP3 player, my business cell, and my external hard drive…passport thingy (technical term). These come with me everywhere during the work week.

“That’s not too bad,” I hear you say! But I haven’t mentioned the laptop, Kindle and mini notebook I have at home. *bites her nails* It’s a disease! I see something cool and I have to have it.

Okay, okay, the Kindle…well, it feeds my book addiction. I’ve likened it to a crack pipe, which it is. I’ve downloaded…eh, maybe a dozen books on it, but I’m tempted to go on Amazon right this very second and buy a dozen more.

My laptop is older…maybe 5 years old. I need to clean it, but I always forget to when I get home, and I only really use it these days as a place to hold all my pictures and music. Since I got the external hard drive, I barely write at home anymore.

The mini-notebook…well, that just came in yesterday. I’m hoping that will force me to write at home…leaving my Kindle all alone and feeling rejected. Because I need to write more. I need to…do things and this mini is going to be my gateway to a new me!

At least that’s what I hope. And there it is…my geekiness spread out for all of you to pick over. How about you? Do you have more electronics than Egon did in Ghostbusters?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “21st Century Digital Girl

  1. LOL–Egon in Ghostbusters. . .

    I have the MacBook Pro, which goes with me EVERYWHERE. A couple thumb drives that house all my novels. My work and personal cells and my little iPod shuffle.

    That’s about it for me. 🙂 I’m so NOT a techie at all. I know how to maintain a blog, do a little bit on Facebook, and do the music downloading thing. OH Wait. I got a NOOK, so I’m learning how to use that. AND I’m lovin’ it!

    This was a fun post today. Happy FIRST of July!!

  2. Pingback: 21st Century Digital Girl (via Unearthly Musings) « Chicago Mac/PC Support

Leave a Reply

