On the Move

Right, so before I start waxing poetic about my Kindle, I’ll instead talk about the weekend.

My brother and his wife have until June 30 to clear out of her apartment and into their new house. Since they were still waiting on utilities and various other things to be completed on their new home, they had only this weekend to move. They sign the papers tomorrow, but with their work schedules, there would’ve been no time to move at a leisurely pace.

So Saturday, they rented a truck. With my brother, his wife, her best friend, and myself, we cleared her apartment of furniture and as much as we could fit in the moving truck and three vehicles. It was hot as hell too. My deodorant quit on me about half-way through the move, but it needed to be done. Oh sure, I pined for my brand new toy at home. But I kept telling myself it needed time to charge. Then I remembered that the electricity had gone out right before I left my house so the Kindle wasn’t charging.

I was relentless in getting things moving. I’m bossy by nature (that could so be my rap name!) and had no problem telling everyone where I thought the furniture should go in the truck. We managed to pack and load the truck in about three hours. Not bad considering how much stuff my sister-in-law has.

Between worrying about my Kindle and moving boxes, I couldn’t help but remember George Carlin’s take on owning things. I’m paraphrasing here, but he said something along the lines of, we buy a house and stuff it with crap, then complain because we have so much crap. Then we move to a bigger house for all that crap and then add more crap. It’s true. We collect things as we live in one spot for a while. I don’t even want to think about moving my house. The amount of utter crap we have is ridiculous, in spite of the throwing-things-out wild hairs I get from time to time.

So Saturday finished on a sweaty note. Sunday morning, my nephew came to replace my sister-in-law’s best friend and we emptied the truck in 45 minutes. It’s amazing how much gets done with two strutting males determined to show off their strength. Bookcases were lifted onto shoulders, dressers were picked up without help. My sister-in-law stayed out of their way and moved boxes.

Now they’re half-way moved in with things still placed haphazardly all over the house, but at least the bulk of her belongings are in the roost. All that’s left is for my brother’s crap (which isn’t as much as hers).

Onto the Kindle. I love it. I even stuffed it in my purse today just in case I have some free time to finish reading the book I started yesterday. I shouldn’t. I should be writing today in my spare time, but I can feel the Kindle calling to me…”read me”, “read me!”.

I like the fact that it stays charged for so long. That was my biggest concern. I hate having to charge something every single day (my phone, my mp3 player). This sucker can go a long time without charge. I also approve of the ability to order books from the Kindle, or from the Kindle Store on Amazon. I didn’t want to have to have the Kindle with me at all times if I happen to be browsing Amazon’s site for new books. The book store on the Kindle is okay, I just prefer the internet.

Granted I’ve only had the Kindle since Saturday, but I’m really loving it. I just can’t remember all the books I want to get! It’s like being at a buffet and not knowing what I want to eat first. Everyone else is pretty impressed by it as well. My brother and his wife have both looked at it and I think they each want one. Maybe that’ll be their Christmas presents to each other.

That was my weekend in a nutshell. It wasn’t terribly exciting unless you count the Kindle. I’m sore from moving furniture, tired from staying up too late each night to read, and fuzzy-brained from trying to remember all the books I want to get, but I’ll manage. I hope.

4 Comments

Filed under Family, reading

4 responses to “On the Move

  1. SWEET. I started using my NOOK yesterday. OH MAN it’s awesome. Started reading FANG, by James Patterson.
    I’m totally digging the e-reader thing. I bought a case that kinda makes it feel like a book a little–okay, it’s totally not the same, but at least a little closer to having a book with a cover. LOL.

    Sounds like you had a crazy busy weekend. Are you sore from moving? I always hated that part of moving. I hope to never move again. LOL.

    Have a great day.

  2. KAK

    “Kin, Carlin, & the Kindle”

    I’m so sorry your deodorant failed. I know how devastating that is for you. What we all really want to know is whether any strapping young men came out to help off-load the truck…other than your nephew.

    Preferably someone like the dude from Friday’s post, who we know was simply resting up before coming to your aid.

    Right? Right?

    • *sigh* I wish I could say it was so, but it wasn’t. The only strapping young men I saw were at the Mexican restaurant we had lunch at. They were muy caliente and we took an extra long lunch.

Leave a Reply

