Book Review: Beast Behaving Badly

I almost couldn’t wait to write this…okay, I’ll confess…I wrote it on Friday. I could’ve released it then, but I didn’t want to mess with my one post per day…thingy.

Anyway, here’s the deal: I started Beast Behaving Badly on Thursday afternoon and could not put it down. Seriously. I wish I was joking, but I’m not. I tried to go to bed at the end of one chapter, but after an hour and a half of tossing and turning, I went back to it. I finished this book a little after midnight and never was I so disappointed to see a book end.

Here’s the blurb:

Ten years after Blayne Thorpe first encountered Bo Novikov, she still can’t get the smooth-talking shifter out of her head. Now he’s shadowing her in New York-all seven-plus feet of him-determined to protect her from stalkers who want to use her in shifter dogfights. Even if he has to drag her off to an isolated Maine town where the only neighbors are other bears almost as crazy as he is…

Let sleeping dogs lie. Bo knows it’s good advice, but he can’t leave Blayne be. Blame it on her sweet sexiness — or his hunch that there’s more to this little wolfdog than meets the eye. Blayne has depths he hasn’t yet begun to fathom — much as he’d like to. She may insist Bo’s nothing but a pain in her delectable behind, but polar bears have patience in spades. Soon she’ll realize how good they can be together. And when she does, animal instinct tells him it’ll be worth the wait…

For the first chapter, I was trying to remember who Blayne was. I’ve read a lot of books between this one and The Mane Squeeze, but after one particular sentence, it all clicked. Blayne is the crazy happy wolfdog who’s Gwen’s best friend. I thought she was kooky in The Mane Squeeze, but now I heart her so much I’d marry her if I were a guy.

So Bo (or Bold…seriously? I love that name!) and Blayne met ten years ago, although “met” is a bit of a stretch. She thought he was a serial killer and still does when she sees him again. How many of us have had that reaction to an intense man? *waves her hand* Bo, on the other hand, is just focused and quiet (except when he’s on the ice because he’s a true beast then).

I’m not going into details, but let me just say that what I love so much about Laurenston’s books (Aikens’ books as well) is she has the best character interactions. I don’t know if it’s sad for me to admit it, but I could see myself acting in ways her characters do. They’re the best characters I’ve read in a while. Oh and don’t even get me started on the sibling interaction. LOVE IT. This would be for the whole series, by the way. She just has a way of making her characters seem so real and lifelike that I just know I’d want to be one of their hangers-on. Truly.

Okay, back to the book. Um, what was I about to say? See how excited I am about this series? Wait, there’s a thought coming to me…oh right. So the story is wonderful. It’s fast-paced, interesting, and did I mention hilarious? I seriously had to put my book down a few times because I was laughing too hard to read (squinty eyes you know). Other parts had me chuckling and shaking my head. Her humor just kills me. It kills me. (I use that phrase a lot, but I am a writer, and am prone to exaggeration.)

I loved Bo. Very regimented, very intense, and very, very hot…in spite of the tusks, I mean fangs, which just make him special. Blayne? Blayne is my BFF now. I loved her silliness, her generosity, her kindness, and her kick-ass skillz (Yes, I used a “z”). It was also great to see so many of the characters from the rest of the Pride Stories make cameo appearances. Of course, that meant my loyalty was torn between Mitch and Bo and Lock…but not from Blayne. She’s easily my favorite Laurenston heroine.

All in all, I’m giving Beast Behaving Badly two pucks up and a hip-check because it was that bad-ass. Really.

If you’re looking for some fresh shapeshifter humorous romance, give her Pride Series and Magnus Pack series a try:

Pack Challenge Magnus Pack #1 (Zach & Sara)
Go Fetch! Magnus Pack #2 (Conall & Miki)
Here Kitty, Kitty Magnus Pack #3 (Nikolai & Angelina)

The Mane Event 
Pride Story #1
     Christmas Pride (Brendan & Dez)
Pride Story #2
     Shaw’s Tail (Mace & Ronnie Lee)    
The Beast in Him Pride Story #3 (Bobby Ray & Jessica)
The Mane Attraction Pride Story #4 (Mitch & Sissy Mae)
The Mane Squeeze Pride Story #5 (Lock & Gwen)
Beast Behaving Badly Pride Story #6 (Bo & Blayne)

I hope you give them a try. They really are the one of the best shapeshifter books I’ve read.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

