Learning More About Yourself

I learned something about myself this past weekend at the wedding. It used to be you couldn’t drag me on the dance floor. I feel awkward and like everyone’s staring (because I’m so awesome, of course, everyone wants to watch me like a hawk *roll*). When I was in college, I’d dance like a fool…after I had a few drinks in me (like a lot).

These days, I’m sort of like “who cares?” You got it. I danced and danced and danced until the music stopped. Sure, I was drinking, but I wasn’t drunk like I used to have to be. I was just enjoying myself. So much so that I didn’t even blink when my cousin suggested we dance on the stage. Yeah, I was on the stage dancing to “No Parking On The Dance Floor”.

My family is the same way, well most of them. We all love to dance and we’re all horrible at it. Most of us (like me) realize how bad we are, but there are a few who think they’re God’s gift to the dance floor. When I point out “You dance like a white girl” I get offended looks. Hey, I’m just being honest. You look like Butthead doing his dance thing, that’s all. I’m not saying it’s a bad thing, but it isn’t going to get you far if you tried out for So You Think You Can Dance.

Probably the only real problem I foresee for myself on the dance floor would be my age. Yeah, there were a couple of times when I was “gettin’ low” when I was like “Oh crap, I might not be able to get back up!” I did and hopefully no one noticed my wince as my hips told me how stupid I was. Oh and there’s this song…I don’t know what it is, but the guy tells you to jump right, jump left and cha-cha…I hate that song. Mostly because I hate being told what to do. I mean, c’mon! Don’t give me dancing instructions, it irritates me mostly because I have problems with authority. The kids loved it though, so I guess that was fine.

So what have you learned about yourself lately? Are you a closet dancer too? What have you noticed about yourself that astonishes you? Share all with your Tante Danica!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, humor

One response to “Learning More About Yourself

  1. I learned I am more shy than I realized! I can’t believe it. I found myself shying away from a situation I felt was in the palm of my hand….

Leave a Reply

