That’s No Speedbump…

It’s a speed mountain!

Now that all the wedding stuff and feel good stuff is over, I can get back to my normal programming. Of course, this means that I’m going to bitch whine discuss writing and it’s pitfalls.

Last month, as some of you may know, I submitted my manuscript Succubus-in-Waiting to several agents. Within three hours of submitting, one of the agents contacted me and wanted the full. I sent it to her three days later and four days after that she wanted to represent me. I was over. The. Moon. Some little adjustments, a few more submissions to her, and we had a verbal agreement. I e-mailed all the other agents I’d queried and told them I was accepting representation elsewhere. Which, from what I understand, is the correct and polite thing to do so they don’t waste time on my stuff.

She sent queries out to ten editors. Six wanted the full and she was waiting to hear from the others. Hello? I wasn’t over the moon anymore, I was in the next galaxy. A month rolled by and I started freaking out. What if she hated it? What if she changed her mind? What if she didn’t know how to tell me no one wanted it? I e-mailed her twice with changes, but didn’t hear back from her. I prayed.

Yesterday I heard back from her, but it wasn’t news I was glad to get. She was no longer with the agency. She apologized, gave me a name of another agent with the same organization if I wanted to stay with them. She gave me a list of the editors she’d sent queries and manuscripts out to and wished me luck. I was stunned. I think I stared at the computer screen reading the e-mail three or four times. How could this be? What do I do now? I was in flat out shock.

I remained in shock the rest of the day, my stomach churning and nausea rising. I just couldn’t believe it. I’d stupidly pinned all my hopes on this verbal agreement and had nothing to show for it. I’d missed out on setting up agent/editor appointments at Nationals and working on a pitch because…I had an agent already. Duh. Now I’m in limbo.

When I went home and broke the news to my mother, she was livid. Naturally, her first instinct is to protect me (cause I’m sweet and adorable). Her upset actually helped me think things through. Is there anything better than someone you love defending you to the bitter end, even if they’re spouting conspiracy theories? No, not really. But she made me realize that this isn’t the end. My work is with six editors. SIX editors with big publishing houses. This is a good thing. It would be even better if someone wanted it. I keep a constant prayer in my head rotating hourly and sometimes more frequently than that.

I’m in wait and see mode right now. I need to see if the new agent is going to pick me up or not and if she isn’t, I have to start the whole querying process again. This is fine. I’m not crying my eyes out over this mess, not thinking it’s the end of the world because it isn’t. Sure, it isn’t quite a speed bump, but maybe this was meant to happen so I could truly appreciate my agent when I get him/her. Maybe this is a lesson for me to learn so I can understand that writing is a gift, not a right.

7 Comments

Filed under Writing

7 responses to “That’s No Speedbump…

  1. Here’s hoping you hear something soon. I wish you the best of luck!

  2. Wow. This is a crazy journey this writing stuff! I’m so sorry!

    I can relate to you. I had my first ever publishing contract (resulting from a contest win), had my first ever book cover, AND had my first ever round of edits from my editor. **I was on cloud NINE**

    Then the publisher closed its doors.

    No more contract. No more book cover. Edits..yeah, still had those, but still……

    I feel your pain.

    All we can do is move forward (after a couple days of chocolate consumption, tears, and whining). I truly believe it all happens for a reason and we’ll come out the end better because of it.

    I know….You can smack me for saying that…but I believe it! **smile**

    Hang in there. I’m rooting for ya!

  3. Oh, no! I’m so sorry. *hugs*

    I can only imagine what you’re feeling right now. I had an agent break my heart a couple of years ago, and I’m still recovering from the scars. This type of thing happens more often than we realize, so you’re not alone in this. It took two years and two more manuscripts for me to get my agent, but it’s worth the wait. And we do this because we HAVE to write; we don’t have the option to give up.

    It sounds like you have the right attitude about this. Hopefully, one of those editors will give you a call, but if not, things will be okay.

  4. Good luck Danica. I know it will all work out for the best. Keep your chin up! Remember, milkshakes on me at National. Buying- not wearing- Sherry w/a Jillian Chantal

    • Stacy – Thank you…considering I’m really into instant gratification…the sooner the better! lol
      Lynn – I remember that! That was horrible. This is a crazy business, isn’t it? Makes you sometimes wonder why you want to do this to yourself (which leads me into the next comment)
      Sandy – Absolutely! We MUST write, which is why we torment ourselves…and eat too much chocolate which isn’t really torment, but it is when you try to pry yourself into a pair of jeans.
      Sfcatty – Lady, if things work out between now and then I’ll be getting y’all milkshakes and marbles (to toss on the floor before the agents’ feet) 😉

  5. OMG! I’m mad now!! Did she not want to take you with her? That is usually what agents do when they change houses or they give you to another agent within the agency…What is going on? Something doesn’t add up!

    • Tonya, I’m not sure if she’s moving to another agency or not, she didn’t explain. She did give me the name of someone else in the agency to contact, but I haven’t heard back from them yet. I’m not going to let it get me down though. If I don’t hear back from the new agent by tomorrow morning (after I call her today), I’ll send out queries again and take it from there. But thank you for your ire on my behalf, lol

Leave a Reply

