“WIP”ing Like a Writamatrix

I have no idea what inspired me to entitle this post such a weird thing, but I think it works, so that’s fine by me. By now, most of you know how er…quirky (let’s go with quirky) I can be.

While I’m waiting for news from one quarter and my 2nd MS is sent out for a second round of edits from my fabulous critique partner, I’ve been musing on a story. It isn’t the same story I sent to she-who-shall-not-be-named because as much as I wanted to start writing it, a new story pushed forward. Amazons are pushy, you know. It doesn’t help that this particular Amazon has been in all three of my manuscripts (even the one that’s buried under clothes in my room).

Izzy has been one of my favorite secondary characters with a…flare for trouble and relentless humor. I guess because I’ve been writing her into stories for the last year, she almost feels like a member of my family (poor thing). I hadn’t really planned to give Izzy her own book. I liked her as a secondary character, but then I had this crazy idea that she needed a hero. Not just any hero, either. Nope, her hero needs to be stronger, bigger, and more stubborn than she is. What came to mind? A minotaur shapeshifter.

BINGO! I’ve been writing like a fiend since Monday and hit over 12k words yesterday. The story is growing by leaps and bounds and it’s almost as though my fingers can’t type fast enough. I’ve had to pause now and then to refer to my “bestiary” so I could make sure I was following the rules of my world. So far, so good. Oh, and did I mention that his mother has made an appearance in the story? And she and Izzy hate each other? And that’s the smallest part of the plot? Bwahahaha.

I was even in the dentist’s chair yesterday thinking about where the story was going. My power naps have been interrupted by conversations I can almost hear her having with the minotaur. When I’m reading for relaxation, I’m thinking about how these two are going to clash. It’s wonderful. It makes me remember how great it felt to write “the end” even if I haven’t done that in a while.

This is why I write, this is why I sit down and edit even when I don’t want to. It’s why I wrote queries and synopses and entered contests. It’s because I have to. The characters give me no peace when they’re in the mood and right now, Izzy and Grant are SO in the mood. For fighting, for love, for sex and not necessarily in that order…yeah, it’s that kind of book.

Are your characters driving you insane? Do you ever get to the point that you think your keyboard will start smoking from your attempts to keep up with the visions in your head? Do you find yourself sinking into your story while doing other things?

6 Comments

Filed under Writing

6 responses to ““WIP”ing Like a Writamatrix

  1. Always, always, always. My stories rule my life. I find myself talking to people about my characters like they are real. Well, they are real, to me. Yes, I’m crazy too, and I LOVE it!

  2. Great post.
    Oh yeah, my keyboard has been smoking lately. A writer’s life is crazy, huh? Glad to know I’m not alone. 🙂

  3. I’ve missed my exit to work because my characters wouldn’t shut up! But yeah, they talk in the most inopportune times and I can only hope I’m able to write it all down (hard to do when I’m driving, though).

  4. daniellegavan

    I hear you. It’s a good thing I can’t take my laptop into the shower with me.. because that’s where my pair choose to yammer the most.

    Lather, rinse.. you want me to write what down? Oh hells no.. I’m in the shower. Go away for ten minutes. 😉

    No rest for the weary. Or, in our case, would that be the wicked?

  5. KAK

    Minotaur? So very awesome. Lemme know when that one’s available for reading!

    • Tammy – Yes! Like they’re old friends and everyone around you just stares at you and then you say, “Oh, it’s one of my characters.”

      Lynn – I’m surprised the fire department hasn’t been haunting me with all of the smoke 😉

      Stacy – Oh yes, or you’re listening to them talk to each other and you laugh to yourself and people in the other cars wonder if you’re laughing at them.

      Danielle – Hm, I don’t get the ideas in the shower so much. It’s mostly brushing my teeth, drying my hair, or when I’m trying to nap *sniff*

      KAK – Haha, yeah I promise if it ever gets published you’ll know 😉

Leave a Reply

