Ow?

So if you’re a regular follower of this blog, you know that my brother’s bachelor party was Saturday night. I waffled back and forth about going, but I had a great time and didn’t leave early at all. Of course, I’m paying for it now. Why, I asked myself when I stumbled out of bed yesterday morning…Why, oh why did I act like I was still 25?

Yes, it seems that I had way, way too much to drink. The really sad part is, I don’t remember how much I drank. I suppose I was celebrating my brother’s upcoming wedding as well as my first steps into writerdom because I drank as though I’d just graduated from college…again. Even worse, my nephews were present and saw their aunt acting like an ass. At least, I think I acted like an ass. My godson was our designated driver, thank GOD, and he said…

“Nanny, you were holding onto the parking meter when we were leaving the bar and said ‘Don’t let a car hit me!’. Then, we walked across the street to the car and  you were on the sidewalk. An SUV drove by on the opposite side of the street and you said, ‘Phew! That was close!'”

The way I feel today, I feel as though I was hit by the car. I think that’s because I spent a few hours on the hallway floor because as I told my uncle, “My dog wants me down here”. Yeah…okay, so I’m not the brightest bulb in the pack when I drink. Which is why I don’t do it anymore.

My brother had fun even if he spent the rest of the night calling Ralph on the big white phone. He certainly partied and he told me yesterday that he isn’t sure he’ll ever drink beer again. Of course, no one told him he had to drink every beer in alphabetical order that the bar offered. He decided that on his own. And only got to “F”. Poor lad.

It wasn’t awkward, it wasn’t strained…it was fun. I’m glad I was able to share it with my brother, uncle, and nephews (even if they all got to see a side of me I haven’t shown since I was in college). I’ve decided to be much more circumspect at the wedding though. No need to show my ass to all of my sister-in-laws family!

5 Comments

Filed under humor

5 responses to “Ow?

  1. Sorry for the hangover, but glad you had such a good time. It’s good to let that wild side out every now and then, just stay away from the road! 😉

  2. When you forget how much you drank, you know you’ve had exactly the right amount

    • Tammy – It was fun and my body is sorry for the hangover too. But at least I didn’t forget “safety first”, lol

      Davis – I’m sure there’s a flaw in that theory…somewhere, but I’m going to agree at this time, lol

  3. Seriously! You’ll have a great story to tell your brother’s kids one day:)

Leave a Reply

