Bachelorette Party Rundown

Saturday was my future sister-in-law’s bachelorette party. I wasn’t sure I’d enjoy myself because I’m only briefly acquainted with some of her friends, but as it turns out, it was a blast. Maybe that had to do with my need to celebrate landing an agent, but I suspect it was just a good mix of people with nothing but fun on the mind.

We went to New Orleans. First, let me just say that it was raining cats and dogs. I opted not to stay the night since I’m trying to pinch pennies for Nationals this year. So my nephew’s girlfriend and I parked the car in the Quarter and headed to Margaritaville. I’ve only been to this place once and when I went, I was extremely hung over so I couldn’t remember where it was. If I had remembered, I’d have parked a lot closer. Walking 8 blocks in the rain with no umbrella is not the best way to start off a party. The party was golf themed, so we set out with our plaid shorts, visors, polo shirts/argyle sweaters, and score cards.

Luckily for us, the rain slacked off not long after dinner. The first bar stop on our “9 Hole Game” was Pat O’Brien’s. The last time I was at Pat O’s…well, let’s just say I was worried I wouldn’t be allowed back in the bar. That wasn’t the case. Two Rum Runners at Margaritaville, one and a half Hurricanes at Pat O’s, and we slipped over to the Cat’s Meow. We sang along with the people performing, did a shot, then headed out to the Krazy Korner. There was a band playing there and we sang a bit, then disappeared into the Tropical Isle. Hand grenades (beer for me), lots of singing, laughing, and cutting up, we headed back up Bourbon.

It was as we were heading to the next stop that I saw something I’ve never seen on Bourbon Street before: a group of random people line dancing. I pointed it out to my girls and one broke off from the group to join them. Then the bachelorette joined and I thought, “What the hell…” Yes, we joined the line dancing. I think by the time the song was over, there must’ve been thirty or forty people dancing in the street. It was so much fun!

After that, we went to Fat Catz, then down the street towards Bourbon Cowboy. However, before we got there, we spied a novelty shop. What caught our eye about it was the New Orleans Saints corset in the window. Being rabid Saints fans, we hustled inside to see what other goodies they had. I walked out with a riding crop and handcuffs. Not for me, unfortunately. No, they’re a wedding present to my brother (on his bride’s suggestions). I don’t want to know, but I was more than happy to buy it for them. *laugh*

We started losing people after that. Three in our group headed out to go to bed and after two more bars, we did as well. I didn’t get home until 3:30 yesterday morning, but I can honestly say it’s been a while since I had that much fun.

This weekend is the bachelor party which I helped organize. As I’ve said before there are 2 females in the groom’s party, so I figured we should do the bachelor party as well. After speaking with my cousin yesterday though, I’m starting to wonder if I would interfere with the guys’ fun.

What do you think? I don’t want to be the only female, but I’d also like to help my brother celebrate his end of bachelorhood. He doesn’t care, in fact, I think he’d like me to go, but I don’t want to make any of the other guys uncomfortable. What a quandary!

I hope everyone had a great weekend because I know I did!

4 Comments

Filed under Family

4 responses to “Bachelorette Party Rundown

  1. Definitely go to t he bachelor party! Sounds like you had a great time at the bachelorette so why not coninue the tradition?

  2. KAK

    Well, you could always go to start of the bachelor party, and, if you feel like you’re cramping his style, bail to let the “boys be boys” … and to go back and get that Saints corset.

  3. I agree with KAK, I say go and hang out for a bit in the beginning, and if you feel like you are cramping their styles, then head out. This way, you get to hang with your brother, but then the boys can go be boys later on that night.

    • Sfcatty – You’re right. I’d have fun with the guys, I think. They’re mostly my family anyway, lol.

      KAK – LOL, yes ma’am…although the corset didn’t come in my size. I could always just buy it to look at 😉

      LaTessa – You’re right, you and KAK both. I’ll go and hang out. Worse comes to worst I can always pretend I don’t know them and go somewhere else 😉

Leave a Reply

