Oh my God, it even has a watermark!

I’ve spent a lot of time searching for the perfect business card. Hence the quote from American Psycho. Yes, I know it’s a really weird movie, but hey, I like it. The scene is a bunch of yuppies sitting around showing each other their business cards. The MC (Patrick Bateman) is looking at his chief rival’s business card and thinks:

Look at that subtle off-white coloring. The tasteful thickness of it. Oh my God, it even has a watermark!

Yeah, so he kills that guy later. Do I want my fellow authors to dream about killing me because I got the greatest business card for Nationals ever? Um, no. That would suck. A lot. I just want something that reflects me. The problem with that, is well, ME.

I’ve had my sister look at the options I’m considering. She said they’re dark. *thinks* *looks at her blog background*  Hmmm, yup, I’m kind of dark. Black is very slimming! I can’t help it if I think it’s a great color (or lack of all color, or combination of all colors for you physics phreaks bwahaha). Right now I have two main contenders in the business card “games”. Still not sure which one I’m going with yet but I need to get on that so they’re ready for July.

In other news, I brought my mom for her pedicure this weekend. She’s not a lady who pampers herself. In fact, she’s only been to the hair salon twice in her life. She was a stylist back in the day so she cuts. Her. Own. Hair. The bad part about this is she’s had the same hairstyle since I was three years old.

So when she thanked me for the pedicure and said she was going to keep her toes in good shape, you could’ve knocked me over with a feather. My mother? My mother? I was shocked. She even said it was her Mother’s Day gift from me, she enjoyed it that much. I felt…both vendicated and elated.

It turned out to be a wonderful Saturday for both of us. We shopped together, had lunch…it was great. I haven’t had that much fun at the store in a while. Now, we just have to get her to the hair salon and get her a new style for the wedding.

With the beautification processes coming up for my brother’s wedding and the business card decision to make, I feel like I’m reinventing myself. I don’t mind change. In fact, I seek it out. My hair gets a style change every two years, while the colors vary every two-three months. My dress style fluctuates a good bit as well. I’m constantly changing and I love it.

How about you? Do you hold onto styles until people bully you into changing something? If you’re going to Nationals, have you ordered your business cards?

5 Comments

Filed under Family, RWA

5 responses to “Oh my God, it even has a watermark!

  1. KAK

    Hahaha! I totally did the business card “which is more *me*” thing for Nationals last year. Then I tried to get my website and my blog to coordinate with it. The cards are full of win, but the website and the writer-ish blog…well, we’ll just say that the colors are similar. ;D

    • KAK – My blog and website (if you can call it a website) are soo not coordinated with my business cards. I’ll probably stick with the ones I have printed already although I hate directing people to that sucky website *sniff*. I suppose I could do more work on it…okay, I will. Today. Gee, thanks for giving me something else to do! lol

      Radifilm – Luckily, I had business cards for my first event. The only reason I knew to have them was because I’d gone to a writer’s meeting and one of the published authors handed me her card. I was like…okay, this is pretty cool and probably necessary. Thus, my business card fetish was born. Though I’m not as bad as Patrick Bateman.

  2. radifilm

    The business card thing is always frustrating. I went to this really nice meet and greet event, had to wear a suit and everything. Shortly after the first sip of Champaign the business cards came think and fast. I was completely out of my comfort zone, not only with having Champaign, (which until then I had only had at weddings) but with the fact that before I got to the event I spent ages ripping up bits of paper neatly with my name and number on them. I have never been so embarrassed.

    I was holding a selection of thick, fully coloured and customised businesses cards in one hand and in the other, some shreds of what can only be called scrap paper with my lame attempt at neat handwritten details. Until that event I never thought I needed business cards.

    When I returned home I quickly searched the internet found some lovely cards that I got them printed. The next event I went to I was the first to hand my card out….however I then realised I had put every possible, conceivable bit a detail on the card, name, address, email, phone number, house number, height weight you name it I had put it on there.

    Now I just give people my mobile number if they need me for anything.

  3. I did get my business cards to match my website this year. I have that crazy design on the side of my website and the same design on my cards.

Leave a Reply

