Anniversary Week II – The People Watchers

KAK mentioned something yesterday that I just knew I had to blog about today. She said, It’s always nice to know you’re not the only rebel trying to help others escape reality. I gave this some serious thought and realized, she’s absolutely right.

The community of writers is proof that I’m not alone. I’m not the only person who people watches (not in a perverted way unless it’s a hot guy) and wonders who they are, where they’re going, where they’ve been, and what they’re like. Writers are observant by nature and we hone this skill by using our imaginations.

For instance, I noticed a lady in the yard last week. I didn’t really watch her, but I noticed she had some really kick-ass tattoos on her arm. Saturday, while I’m getting my pedicure (in a town 30 miles away from the yard), I see a girl with tattoos all over her arms and think she might be one of the local roller derby girls. As we sat, chit chatting, waiting for our nails to dry, I noticed one particular tattoo on her arm. So I had to ask who she worked for. As it turns out, she was the same lady I saw in the yard. I think she might’ve given me the ‘stalker lady!!’ look, but I did my best to explain that I just notice tattoos and stuff.

It was surreal. But now, I’m wondering if I can incorporate this into a story somehow. Oh no, nothing I’m working on right now, but later.

That’s another thing I’ve realized since starting this “grand writing adventure”: there’s always a story to tell. Sometimes you have to look for it, but other times it comes to you like a Mack truck…you know, like hitting you when you’re doing something mundane, like brushing your teeth, or drying your hair, or writing your blog. Then your hands start shaking and your mind starts clicking away and you can’t wait to find a keyboard to write it all down.

It’s truly wonderful being a writer. Oh yes, you hear that every story is the same story told over and over again with what is it, something like 12 different themes? But it’s how it’s put together that matters. It’s finding a way to twist the old and make it fresh, and what better way to do that than to watch your fellow man? That cute little blonde in the pink dress who’s playing on her cell phone? What if she’s really a spy, or an assassin? That cute guy who always opens the door for you at the office? What if he’s really a werewolf? There are endless possibilities and that’s what makes writing fun.

Are you a people watcher? Where’s your favorite place to indulge your imagination? How are your skills of observation?

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Anniversary Week II – The People Watchers

  1. I find that I keep telling stories from middle sschool, high school and college, seen through the lens of my genre. Face it, 7th grade and Sorority life were a lot like Regency society – lots of rules, jockeying for position, and broken hearts everywhere!

    • Romancemama – I never really thought about it, but you’re so right! Isn’t it strange, that even though nearly two centuries have passed, people still act the same?

      Tonya – Never thought of using a video camera…but these days you can be more sly and use a camera phone to record fascinating people to peruse at your leisure!

  2. I am a HUGE people watcher. It’s fun to try and guess what they are talking about. When I was in high school, video cameras was beginning to find their way into people’s homes, and my friends and I would take it to the mall and video tape all the people. Now you can’t do that are someone will SUE you….anyways we had the best time and the bet footage.

Leave a Reply

