Tales of a Groomswoman Part 2

Last night I sat down with my brother (the groom-to-be) to discuss his bachelor party. It’s been decided that the boys who want to, will play 18 holes of golf during the day, then we’ll head out to a buffalo wing joint (not Hooters) for dinner, then we’re going to Mahoney’s. *sigh* I love Mahoney’s. It’s supposed to be an Irish style pub, but it’s so far off the mark. I don’t care though, they have the best selection of beer there. Oh yes…Guinness on tap and something else I can’t recall at the moment.

I know this probably seems like a tame bachelor’s party. Especially when you take into account the bachelorette party is being held in New Orleans. Yes, for that party we’ll be playing 18-hole-in-the-wall-bars. Apparently, it’ll be like golf, but without the clubs and greens. No, the shots we’ll be taking will be drinks and there’s a scoring system set up that I don’t understand.

Should I feel bad for not setting the bachelor party at some strip club? Hell no! This is my little brother we’re talking about here and my nephews are going to be a part of it as well, not to mention my aunt would KILL my uncle if he went to a strip club. Actually, I pretty much left the choices up to my brother. He chose to play golf and go to Mahoney’s. Because he’s not into that scene, which makes me happy.

So last night we had to sit down and figure out who was coming to this bachelor party. I tried to get out of attending, but all I managed to avoid was golf. My brother is insistent that my cousin and I join the lads for drinks. That’ll be so. Much. Fun! Actually, it probably will be. He’s also saying that if I ever get married, he wants to be the Man of Honor or one of the bridesmaids. Yeah, he would do it too.

And that’s the current pre-wedding state. Everything is scheduled for May which gives me plenty of time to contact everyone and find golf-type clothes for the bachelorette party.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Tales of a Groomswoman Part 2

  1. Gosh…I’m sooooo glad everyone I know is married finally….not remembering all of the planning very fondly!

  2. Why not elope? Or JP? We hillbilly it up in KY! My husband and I got married in our new house by the Justice of the Peace infront of the fireplace, next to the christmas tree.

    • Angie – Luckily, this is only the 2nd wedding I’ve been in.
      Tonya – Yeah, actually this is the first “proper” wedding we’ve had in our family since my sister got married 20 years ago. The other relatives all had small weddings at home.

Leave a Reply

