Birth of an Author

As writers, we like to think that we know exactly what we want to write, how we want to write it, and where our writing careers are going. Boy, are we wrong! Actually, I don’t know if that’s wrong for other authors, but it’s wrong for me. I know how I want to write and I know where I want my career to go, but what I want to write is becoming more clouded rather than clearer.

I suppose you have to take a look at what you read before you can put words on page. Prior to my serious intent to write, I read paranormal and historical romance avidly. Yeah, if you could see my bookshelves, you’d see so many of both genres that I look like a book store. So with this in mind, I decided the paranormal genre was right for me. I wrote three manuscripts in a year and I’m working on getting them through the critique/query/submission processes.

I’ve already mentioned that I’m giving erotica a shot. Surprisingly enough, I’m finding it…not easier, but I’m enjoying it. I’m not that far into the story yet, but I like what I’ve written. Sure, it needs tweaking, but I can handle that. I can’t handle staring at a blank screen trying to force my brain to spit out the words my last paranormal needed.

Now, on to the title of this post. As many of you already know, Danica Avet is my pseudonym for paranormal and contemporary romance with a touch of Cajun spice (a mouthful, isn’t it?). Well, I’d like to introduce you all to Jojo Solet, author of erotic love stories that set fire to your imagination. Jojo is a quiet lady, mostly because she spends far too much time lost in the steamy stories she dreams up.

Darlings, I’m so glad to step into the sisterhood of sweaty bodies and sex good enough to kill. Danica has been a sweetheart, letting me share her blog for the moment. She’s also letting me borrow her body so I can finally speak, sort of. Here’s a little peek into my current work in progress:

Miss Glory Ridgefield is a working woman. Not that kind of working woman. After years of toiling as a companion, chaperone, and girl-of-all-work, she’s finally found a job that offers a little excitement to her hungry soul. Unfortunately, her employer is none other than the Earl of Isley, the eldest of the Monroe triplets. Scandal followed the brothers and it was whispered that they weren’t looking for three brides, but one. Glory doesn’t care as long as they leave her alone and never fully realize the sinful needs that burn beneath her prim exterior.

James, Justin, and Jesse Monroe have been looking for the one woman who can love them all equally. They’ve tried finding their own ladies, but as luck would have it, they’re all drawn to the same woman again and again. Their solution? They’ll scour the Ton for the perfect lady to belong to them. Glory Ridgefield might be the daughter of the man who embroiled them all in scandal, but there’s something in her that calls to each brother. They need her. They will have her. But first, they have to battle her preconceived notions of love and sin.

Thank you, Danica, for allowing me a moment to get this out to your friends. I hope you’ll permit me to return.

So Jojo is taking a historical approach to erotica. It should be interesting to see where it goes. I guess this whole post is about not locking yourself into what kind of author you perceive yourself as. Being an author should mean being flexible and open-minded. I never would have discovered Jojo if I hadn’t been so despondent over my latest paranormal WIP. Will anything come of it? How does that song go? “Today is where your book begins, The rest is still unwritten”. That should probably be a writer’s theme song.

Is everyone properly confused now? Bwahahaha

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Birth of an Author

  1. Great blurb, Jojo! Very nice to meet you 😀

  2. So you took the plunge? Good for you! Which one is coming to Nationals??

    • Oh Danica’s going with her two paranormals. Jojo isn’t ready for a public appearance yet. She has a lot of um, learning to do first lol although she is trying to get me to attend some conference in Florida for erotic writers later in the year. Apparently there’s bound to be a lot of male models there and she wants to go drool over them.

Leave a Reply

