Huh? Wha-?

So yesterday I was bemoaning the fact that I couldn’t write. Nothing was working for me, my brain was fried. That was in the morning. Something happened yesterday afternoon.

Erotica is not my favorite genre. I have read some books that were excellent, well-written, and oh so touching (not that kind of touching, pervs). I never, ever thought I’d attempt to write erotica myself. But there you have it. Yesterday, I began writing an erotica short story (another first). It’s also a historical. Am I trying to do something very different or what?

I can’t say I’m that surprised, really. I am a history buff, so eventually I did want to write historicals, but I just didn’t expect it to turn out to be erotica. By the way, I have nothing against erotica. I think it’s an intriguing genre and I have found myself drawn to some authors. Lorelei James? Yup. Love her books. Jess Michaels? Kate Pearse, Sharon Page, and some others…all great stuff. But me? Writing it? *looks shocked* My mother would kill me! But I’m doing it anyway.

It’s a menage quatre. Will I attempt to get it published? I don’t know. I do know I’ll be writing it under a new pseudonym. Right now, it’s the only story my brain/muse/creative child wants to write. I hope it doesn’t suck that much, lol.

Have you ever found yourself venturing into a new genre without knowing why? What are your views on erotica as a genre?

4 Comments

Filed under Muses

4 responses to “Huh? Wha-?

  1. I like erotica. Actually, I write soft erotica for fun. It keeps the, um, juices flowing? (Creatively speaking…lol)

    Sometimes doing something different is exactly what it takes to get back in the groove of things. Maybe the muse just needs a break from the usual humdrum and this is her way of telling you that.

    Either way.. have fun! 🙂

    • Thanks Danielle. My muses um…juices are flowing just fine. She keeps giving me brief glimpses of what she wants to see in this story. I’m just going with the flow. It’s probably safer that way, lol.

  2. I haven’t ventured out. I read some b/c a lot of my OVRWA chapt members write it, but I’m not a big fan. I am the minority. Erotica is HOT right now and has been for about three years.

Leave a Reply

