Meh

I’m a fan of LOLcats, but I ran across one picture that spoke to me because I’m suffering from this exact same thing.

I haven’t written anything worth saving in well over a week. I’m not sure if it’s writer’s block, or writer’s burn out. I’ve been going full speed ahead since July without a single break from writing (other than my weekend ME time).

The story I’m currently working on does want to be written, but I can’t bring myself to write it. I replotted it twice, so maybe that has a lot to do with it. It’s an entirely new world, so I worry that I became too comfortable with The Veil series.

I have scored a new critique partner (that puts me at 2 now) and she’s helping with my 3rd manuscript. She’s found a lot of things I glossed over in my initial edits, so I think we’re going to get along well. I don’t know if my mind is torn between my edits and new material.

Argh! Maybe it isn’t any of that, maybe I’ve just burned out my muse (or my creative brain). I haven’t even thought of any new things to write about, which is strange for me. *slump* I’m not depressed, just tired, I think. Writing 3 manuscripts in a year has done a number on my brain.

What do you do when your brain feels burnt to a crisp?

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Meh

  1. LOLcats are AWESOME!!!! Don’t let it get you down. Take a nice long bubble bath and relax. The stories will come!

  2. My desktop picture is the LOL cat of a kitty pressing his little face to the computer screen and asking “Why do they not like my submissions???” Sums up my writing here lately.

    Love this one too, will be downloading it for future use.

  3. UGH! I can’t write a new book and edit at the same time. This time around I decided to edit while I write…new concept for me! I have a new crit. partner who’s reading it as I write it. It’s a lot easier this time around. I’ve written two books in a year and I had to take off two months from writing when I did that. It was hard to get back in the swing of things. Right now, I’m sticking with one book, one edits and then move on.

Leave a Reply

