Book Review: The Battle Sylph

I forgot to post a book review last week, but that’s okay, I’m making up for it this week. I was feeling a bit lost, looking for something to read when I came across The Battle Sylph by L.J. McDonald. I’ll admit to being leery about reading it. It was by an unknown author, but the story sounded intriguing.

Here’s the blurb:

Sometimes, love means war. 

He is one of many: a creature of magic, unrelentingly male. He is lured through the portal by pure female beauty, a virgin sacrifice. When she is killed, he is silenced and enslaved. 

Such a dark ritual is necessary, you see. Unlike their elemental cousins-those gentler sylphs of wind and fire-Battlers find no joy in everyday labor. Their magic can destroy an army or demolish a castle, and each has but one goal: find a Queen, then protect and pleasure her at all costs. What would a woman do if she were given such a servant, and what would befall any kingdom foolish enough to allow a Battler to escape?

Young Solie and the people of Eferem are about to find out.

I got the book in yesterday. I was in the middle of re-reading a historical romance that I love, but I couldn’t resist the draw of this book. Wow. Okay? Just wow. McDonald’s world is fascinating and rich. I love the idea of sylphs, which are “spirits” from another dimension, who are lured over to the human world and anchored there by their bonds with their masters. There are elemental sylphs and then, there are the healer and battle sylphs. The battle sylphs are the bad boys of the sylph world. They fight to defend their hives and queens.

I was sucked into this story. Solie is young, younger than most heroines I read about, but you forget about her age as the story goes along. Heyou, her accidentally bonded battle sylph, is a sweetheart. You can absolutely see them together. I personally, was drawn more to the other battle sylphs who are darker and more dangerous. Yeah, I like the bad boys. I can’t wait until the next books come out. *fans herself*

This book reminded me of some non-romance high fantasy books I’ve read (at my brother’s insistence). There were several POVs, but I didn’t mind as it gave the story a lot of depth and me, as a reader, much more information than I would’ve had just from the hero and heroine. There’s also a whole helluva lot of action going on. There are big battles, smaller skirmishes, pretty much everything you could think of. Oh, and did I mention the romance? Yes, there is romance in this story. And sex.

I’m giving McDonald two thumbs up and two virgins. This book was very good. If you’re looking for a sweet romance where everything’s always sunny, don’t read this. But, if you’re looking for a story with a lot of depth and action, give it a try. I honestly can’t wait for the next book in the series. Ril’s book! *swoon*

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

