Movie Quiz Results and a Revelation!

Yesterday’s movie quiz ended in a draw, so KL and Lynn,  you’re both getting the gift cards from Amazon. E-mail me at danica.avet@gmail.com so I can get those cards to you! So here are the answers for the quotes:

1. “You’re a vampire! I knew it!”
    “I am not!”
    “So what are you? The Flying Nun?” The Lost Boys

2. “Now let me correct you on a couple of things, OK? Aristotle was not Belgian. The central message of Buddhism is not “Every man for himself.” And the London Underground is not a political movement. Those are all mistakes, Otto. I looked them up.” A Fish Called Wanda

3. “I know what you’re thinking, ’cause right now I’m thinking the same thing. Actually, I’ve been thinking it ever since I got here: Why oh why didn’t I take the BLUE pill?” The Matrix

4. “Or are you here to tell me what a bad eugoogoolizer I am?” 
    ”A what?” 
    “A eugoogoolizer… one who speaks at funerals…Or did you think I was too stupid to know what a eugoogooly was?” Zoolander

5. “I love you, Pumpkin.”
    ”I love you, Honey Bunny.”
    “All right, everybody be cool, this is a robbery!” Pulp Fiction

6. “Didn’t you see Fatal Attraction?” 
    “You wouldn’t let me!” 
    “Well I saw it and it scared the shit out of me. It scared the shit out of every man in America.” Sleepless in Seattle

7.  ”I had to be up at that there crossroads last midnight, to sell my soul to the devil.”
     “Well, ain’t it a small world, spiritually speaking. Pete and Delmar just been baptized and saved. I guess I’m the only one that remains unaffiliated.” O Brother Where Art Thou?

8. “Are we being too literal?”
    “No you fool, we’re following orders. We were told to comb the desert so we’re combing it.” Spaceballs

9. “And most recently of all, a “Roman Toga Party” was held from which we have received more than two dozen reports of individual acts of perversion SO profound and disgusting that decorum prohibits listing them here.” National Lampoon’s Animal House

10. “When I was growing up, I knew I was different. The other girls were blonde and delicate, and I was a swarthy six-year-old with sideburns.” My Big Fat Greek Wedding

Ah me, I love those movies. Now it’s time for the revelation. As I was driving home the other day, I was listening to Don’t You Want Me by the Human League. It made me start thinking about fashion and fashion changes. I’m not talking about fashions come back into style, so much as attitudes

See, I began drawing comparisons between the 80’s and the 18th century, most especially the style of the maccaronis and New Wave. Below are pictures of both:


Mostly, it’s the outrageous hairstyles that caught my attention. They’re both exaggerated beyond belief, but we accepted this, just as they did in the 18th century (although we all agreed they were strange and some people even adopted these styles as their own). It was being different and forging a new path that forced these styles, I think. At least that’s my belief.

Next, I got to thinking about the recent Emo movement and immediately thought of the Romantics. Wasn’t Lord Byron just the most brooding tragic figure? A slave to his passions, pouring out sentiment for the world to see? Isn’t this pretty much what the Emo movement is about? People getting in touch with their feelings and giving voice to them?

Is it the pale skin, dark (carefully tended) hair that makes me think they’re similar? Or is it the power of the words they give to the world? I’m not sure, but to me, the Romantic movement (into the dark romantic movement) and the Emo movement are vastly similar.

Honestly, I don’t sit around and think about things like this. These ideas usually strike me at the most inopportune times, but when they get in my head, I have to get them out.

What do you think? Am I crazy? Seeing things that aren’t there? Hm, either way, I hope you enjoyed peering into the strangeness that is my brain, lol

1 Comment

Filed under contest

One response to “Movie Quiz Results and a Revelation!

  1. KL

    Woo hoo! But please don’t worry about a gift card for me. It was fun! And quite a bit distressing to see how bad the memory is getting in my old age.

    And I think you’re right about cycling trends in fashion and art. We’re constantly updating the trends that came before and calling it something new.

Leave a Reply

