Book Review: Death’s Mistress

It took me a little longer to read Karen Chance’s Death’s Mistress, not because it was a slow read, but because of the concert I attended. To be honest, I was kind of put out that I had to stop reading, but I was appeased by finishing the book last night.

Death’s Mistress isn’t your run-of-the-mill romance, but neither is it quite fantasy. Her characters are complex, but her world building is downright staggering. The blending of fantasy and the mundane is so flawless, that you think anything in her books are possible.

Here’s the blurb:

Dorina Basarab is a dhampir—half-human, half-vampire. Subject to uncontrollable rages, most dhampirs live very short, very violent lives. So far, Dory has managed to maintain her sanity by unleashing her anger on those demons and vampires who deserve killing.

Back home in Brooklyn after the demise of her insane uncle, Dracula, Dory’s hoping her life is about to calm down. But then she gets some visitors. A friend wants Dory’s help in finding a magical Fey relic, and the gorgeous vampire Louis-Cesare is desperate to find his mistress, Christine.

Dory and Lous-Cesare quickly discover that the same master vampire Christine is bound to is also rumored to be in possession of the relic. But when the master vampire turns up dead, they realize that there’s more at stake than a missing mistress. Someone is killing vampire Senate members, and if Dory and Louis-Cesare can’t stop the murderer, they might be next.

Okay, so let me start by saying that usually I don’t like to read first-person series. I think I might’ve mentioned this before. However, Karen Chance has such a way with words that I quickly forget that it’s in first person and get lost in the story.

Dory is a great character. She’s flawed, she’s snarky, and she’s bad-ass. She sets out to find her friend and finds a lot more trouble than she expected. Things go crazy right from the start and don’t stop until the book ends. Louis-Cesare is a great hero. I love him. He’s so…lethal and sexy and honorable. Gotta love those honorable men, er vampires. He and Dory have a serious attraction going on and it just sets the pages on fire. But there are so many obstacles in their path that a relationship appears impossible.

Once again, no spoilers, but I was happy with the ending. The action was non-stop and fast-paced. You spend the entire time thinking, “Jeez, I’d just give up!” but not Dory. She’s not made that way. Even better, she finally begins to resolve some of her issues with her father, the Senate vampire Mircea. I want so badly for them to work out their problems and have a good relationship.

I love how Karen Chance has taken one series and manipulated it into a spin-off. The Cassandra Palmer series is what first hooked me on Chance as a writer, and her Dorina Basarab series is definitely a winner. I give this latest addition two thumbs up, and a stake.

If you’re interested in reading Ms. Chance’s books, she has two series that intermingle. They are:

The Cassandra Palmer Series:
Touch the Dark
Claimed by Shadow
Embrace the Night
Curse the Dawn

The Dorina Basarab Series:
Midnight’s Daughter
Death’s Mistress 
 

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Book Review: Death’s Mistress

  1. You know, I don’t think I’ve read any of these books, but I’m gonna go download them to my Kindle tonight! (Legally, of course. LOL)

    Nice review!

Leave a Reply

