Becoming THAT Person

I don’t know how many of you are rock concert goers, but if you’ve ever been to one (no matter which sub-genre of rock: metal, alternative, pop), there’s always one person in the crowd who’s undeniably much older than the rest of the crowd. I love going to concerts. There’s nothing quite like seeing a band live and losing yourself in the energy of the crowd.

Last night I attended a concert for Flyleaf, Breaking Benjamin, and Three Days Grace. Now, this isn’t my usual concert fare. I like my music heavier and louder with mosh pits popping up all over the place. Last year I saw Shinedown and was disappointed, but I have to say that this concert didn’t give me the same feeling.

So, let me start by saying that we spent more time looking for the correct line than we did waiting in it. After walking around and around the arena, we finally found the line we needed and managed to get in the building.

Flyleaf…This isn’t a band I know much about. I like a few of their songs, but because I have this strange dislike of bands with female singers, I didn’t enjoy them that much. The music was good, but the vocals had too much echo to truly understand.

Breaking Benjamin…I happen to like this band a lot. They were very good live. There was no need for them to get the crowd pumped up, because everyone was digging it. They did an amazing tribute to deceased musicians to the tune of Dream On (Aerosmith) while flashing pictures of these musical legends. I’d definitely see them again.

Three Days Grace…Again, this is a band I know a few of their songs, but not all that many. They were good, although I could’ve done without the lead singer harassing the crowd to get them pumped up (but that’s just me). They had pyrotechnics and we were sitting close enough that I began to worry if they were trying to serve up BBQ Cajun for the after party. I don’t know if I’d go to see them again, but if they were part of a line-up, I wouldn’t protest too much.

This brings me to the title of today’s post. I’m 33, not quite at the age when I’m much older than the rest of the concert goers, but I have heard that I will end up being THAT person. My question is, at what age do you become that person? In your 40’s? 50’s? I don’t think I’ll be jonesing to get into a mosh pit at 40 or older, but you never know.

What do you think? Is there an age where you have to say, “No more concerts”? Or would it be cool for an 80-year-old to rock out at a Slipknot concert? (Of course, they’d be in their 80’s too, so maybe it would be awesome…a bunch of senior citizens on their rascals pretending to mosh…)

7 Comments

Filed under humor

7 responses to “Becoming THAT Person

  1. I’d pay good money to see the 80 year olds in the mosh pit. LOL I’m your age so my opinion might not matter but I think that as long as you aren’t running around saying things like, “What’s with kids these days,” then you are a rocker! Rockers are ageless!!!!!

    • That’s how I feel about it, but my sister is the one who keeps pointing out that I’m getting older and the other concert goers are getting younger. Hmph. And yeah, I would definitely pay to see 80yos moshin, lol.

  2. KAK

    The great thing about rock concerts is utter lack of Fogey-WTF. As long as you’re into the music and the scene you’re totally welcome.

    Two tips:
    1) keep the droopy bits covered
    2) when you have kids the same age as the moshers, back out of the pit

    • KAK – LOL, I’ll be sure to keep the puppies covered at concerts!
      Tammy – You’re right! Just cause she’s an old fogey now, doesn’t mean I have to be one too!

  3. I will never stop going to see NIN…if they ever tour again that is!

Leave a Reply

