Sometimes I Like to Cook

A couple of days ago, I dreamed about making one of my specialty dishes: stuffed meatloaf. Well, yesterday I put dream into action.

I don’t know how many people are aware of this dish. I learned it from a co-worker several years ago, and my family loves it. I don’t cook often. I freely admit, I’m not a domestic goddess by any stretch of the imagination. I can make a mean lasagna, a decent fettucine, a kick-ass cottage pie, and stuffed meatloaf. Oh sure, I can cook other things, but these are my dishes.

A stuffed meatloaf is a great way to clean your fridge of sandwich meat and cheese, or anything you could possibly imagine could go in a meatloaf. It sounds weird, I know, but it rocks. Really. I’ve even thought about making a pizza stuffed meatloaf, with pepperoni, lots of cheese, and tomato sauce. Haven’t tried it yet, so I can’t give you details about it.

Anyway, this is my recipe:

Ground beef (however much you would use for a regular meatloaf)
Sliced sandwich meat
Shredded cheese or cheese slices
Bacon

Season your ground meat as you normally would. Once seasoned, place on wax paper and flatten. Place sandwich meat and cheese over the surface of ground meat. Put as much, or as little, you want. Taking one end of the wax paper, flip one end of ground meat over the other (like a turnover). Press down ends making sure cheese won’t leak out.

Place in baking pan and “wrap” strips of bacon around the loaf. I normally make sure as much of the top of the loaf is covered. As the bacon cooks, it seeps into the meatloaf and adding flavor. Bake at 350 degrees for an hour and a half.

It really is a great dish. Some day (if I can ever convince my picky family), I’ll try it with broccoli, cauliflower, and ham with lots and lots of cheese. If any of you try it, let me know how you like it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sometimes I Like to Cook

  1. sounds good. I cook every night b/c it’s much cheaper than taking six people out to eat. We do have veggies and if they don’t eat them, they don’t eat.

Leave a Reply

