A Want is Kindled

Saturday evening, I attended an engagement party. I’m not the sophisticated entertainment kind of person. Give me an old comedy, or a few beers, or even Trivial Pursuit, and I’m happy. I didn’t mention give me an evening of uninterrupted reading because that’s a given.

So the engagement party was for my younger brother. He’s getting married in June (can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to being the last single person in my family!), and his fiancée’s godmother threw the party. I was very pleasantly surprised to find out they weren’t high in the step. I worried about it for weeks. Would they think my family is uncouth? Would they think we’re crazy? (I mean, we are crazy, but we try not to let everyone know!) Would they think their girl was marrying into a family of lunatic perverts?

As it turns out, we were well-received. Everyone was on their best behavior while not changing who they are. I enjoyed myself immensely. The fun really didn’t begin though, until my future sister-in-law’s godmother brought out her Kindle to show me what it was like.

*deep breath* I was drooling. I’ve been debating the whole Kindle thing since they came out. I can’t help but enjoy actual books. I like the way they smell, feel, and the convenience of taking them wherever I want. I figured there was no way I’d ever even dream of wanting a Kindle. It isn’t a ‘book’. I worried it would be too similar to a computer screen for my eyes’ sake. Then…I held it in my hand.

I quivered. I could save so much room in my house with one of these things! I could stuff it in my purse and read as many books as I could put on it! I could…oh, I could do so many things! I think Bennie (the godmother) may have begun fearing for her continued ownership of her Kindle. I was coveting it that much.

As we were leaving, she hugged me, saying if she hadn’t been in the middle of a book, she’d loan it to me to see if I truly liked it. What a sweetheart! She’s my new favorite person, and no, not just because she offered. She was a wonderful lady who indulged my addiction for a little while.

So now the real question is: when am I going to get one? I’m not sure. With the release of Apple’s iPad, I begin to wonder if it would be better to wait out the big e-reader crisis. Then, I suspect that e-readers will turn out like video game systems. There’ll always be a new one coming out that’s so much better than the last, and you won’t be able to use your old games on the new one. What a dilemma!

How about you? Do you own a Kindle or similar reader? Do you like it? Will it replace hard cover/paperback books for you?

2 Comments

Filed under Family, reading

2 responses to “A Want is Kindled

  1. I don’t have a kindle and I must say….what for it…I really don’t want one. I do love the feel of the book, smell, maybe even a lick:)
    BUT I like to write in my books and circle things to remind me of a word, scene I like. Also you can’t download from the kindle so once you buy the book, you can’t pass it around (which the women in my family love to do).

    • That’s a very valid point. I don’t share my books with many people because not many people in my family are readers. My aunt is the same way though (when she does read). I remember loaning her Rebeccca Paisley’s Basket of Wishes and she had to buy me a new copy because she’d highlighted her favorite scenes. I didn’t mind terribly, my copy was old, lol.

Leave a Reply

