No More Ms. Nice…er Guy?

I have a confession to make: I’m sarcastic. I can’t help it. I have a very weird sense of humor at times, and it usually comes out sounding as though I’m arrogant or mean. Most of the time, I say things just to make people laugh.

Case in point is my latest visit to my hair stylist. The make ’em laugh urge takes over, probably because my sister and I get our hair done at the same time. She brings out the devil in me, I think. No, I can’t say that because everyone in my family brings out the devil in me. How horrible is that? But they’re just as bad.

Anyway, I digress. I’d just had my hair done and was waiting on my sister. This little girl who must’ve been 7 or 8 years old was prancing and twirling around the room. Her aunt had just put make-up on the little one, so she was singing out, “I’m Princess. I’m a Princess today.”

My stylist said something along the lines of me being a queen for the day. To which I replied in my most deadpan voice, “I’m a Queen everyday. I’m Queen of the Universe, didn’t you know?”

I’d forgotten all about this conversation. Really, I can’t keep track of all the crazy things I say! But apparently my sister thought I was trying to burst the little girl’s bubble. I promise you, I did not. I doubt she even heard me. Was it horrible? I don’t think so. It wasn’t like I told her she wasn’t a princess, after all.

I really can’t help it if these things come out of my mouth. My stylist is convinced I’m sweet as pie, just twisted. She’s likely right. I don’t do hurtful things, or say mean things to people. Oh, I pick. I admit to that. I love to pick on people, but they have to be someone I know, who knows how whacked I am. I normally have no problem with this kink in my personality, but after I was reminded of this conversation, I began to wonder.

How about you? Do you say things people misconstrue as being mean? Do you have a dry, sarcastic sense of humor?

P.S. I really am a nice person. Honest!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “No More Ms. Nice…er Guy?

  1. Lord, Danica, you are like my long lost sister. Everyone is always looking at me and going “I can’t believe you said that!” When I did not mean anything by it. I keep trying to think first and talk afteran but I never get the order straight.So when I offend you, which I will, please overlook it!!!

Leave a Reply

