Hell Has Frozen Over

I’m sure you’ve all heard the news by now. The Saints are going to the Superbowl. Oh, I’m sure most of you don’t care, but for the state of Louisiana, this is a very big deal. We’ve waited 43 years to have our faith in our team vindicated.

We’ve worn bags over our heads, had to listen to the games on the radio rather than watch them due to black outs, had to endure ugly ragging by opposing fans. We’ve been the underdogs of the NFL. We’ve had our heritage, even our tragedies, turned into taunts. We’ve suffered countless close calls, bad luck, and dismal performances for years.

We’ve seen lads we consider ‘ours’ (the Peyton and Eli Manning) go on to other teams and win big. We’ve watched them closely, cheered for them when they won Superbowls, been loyal fans to them because they’re from here, because their dad played for us.

And now. We’re going to the SUPERBOWL. 43 years of faith, 43 years of disappointment, 43  years of hopes and dreams have finally coalesced into a winning season for us. Oh trust me, we’re all hoping we win. If we do, there will be…mass hysteria in the streets. There will probably be a serious lack of people at work the day after the Superbowl.

I didn’t even see the team celebration after the field goal last night. No, I was too busy screaming my head off. I could’ve just…exploded, I felt so much joy. Now, in the morning light, I can hardly believe we did it. It seems like a dream, like I’m going to wake up and realize the Vikings did win after all. But no, this is reality.

So now, I can’t help but wonder…If the Saints can make it to the Superbowl after 43 years of fighting tooth and nail for respect, how can I doubt that good things happen? I feel…buoyed by hope, because if the Saints can make it to the big game, then I can get published. It might not happen this year, it might not happen next year, but it will happen.

That’s what the Saints do for this area (Not just New Orleans, or even Louisiana, but the entire Gulf Coast). They give us hope that even though life seems to beat you down time and time again, you can get back up and achieve the highest of the highs. We can become something more. We can all be champions.

Geaux Saints.

6 Comments

Filed under Football

6 responses to “Hell Has Frozen Over

  1. Lesley

    Love it…

    Geaux Saints ((I have no idea about these things, you’re talking soccer, right? I’m English you know… 😉 lol))

    And good luck on your publishing goals! Of course you can do it. It’s called having a positive mental attitude. And if those big tough men who couldn’t do it for forty odd years did it it, so can you (hopefully A LOT quicker though than they did, lol!).

    🙂 x

    • Lol, actually it’s American Football. Unfortunately, the only soccer I’ve been able to watch lately has been my nephew’s school team (and they’re not much to write home about). 🙂

    • The high from Sunday’s win still has me floating! It’s going to be an amazing week, I think. I was so excited, I didn’t even mind the rejection letter waiting in my inbox yesterday morning, lol

  2. Ahhh Da Colts defense hasn’t been playing without 3 key starters for a long time. Powers didnt play vs The Jets, so he could heal. Brocks a starter just not at DE because Mathis and Freeney are so good. The Saints on the other hand have a bad defense and Manning will kill them up. Brees will fumble the ball at least once and turn it over. He lost 6/10 fumbles for the season. The saints defense will blow it for them. On the other hand The Colts defense has gotten better each game. The saints arent very good closers, the Colts are the best at playing 60 mins. Colts by at least 2 tds.

    • Well, I just read this comment. It’s 9:15 and the Saints have won the Superbowl. To be completely honest, as a Saints fan, if we hadn’t won, I wouldn’t have been so upset because Manning is a local. He’s a homeboy whose success we’ve enjoyed for the last 12 years. If we had to lose to anyone, it wouldn’t have hurt so much to lose to him. However, we won. We pulled it out with aggressive offensive calls, and superb offensive plays. The Saints, after 43 years of losing and fighting, have given their fans the ultimate gift: the Lombardi Trophy and bragging rights. It wasn’t an easy game for either team, but it was one of the most exciting Superbowls I’ve seen in a long time.

Leave a Reply

