What’s True Romance?

As an aspiring romance author, I make it my purpose in life to think of things that are truly romantic. I’m not talking sappy romance. I’m talking about practical romance.

I remember when I was a teenager, my sister telling me how jealous she was of her co-worker’s husband (we’ll call the co-worker Jackie and her husband John). Jackie used to have to go to work before John. In the winter time, John used to wake up before Jackie, fix a pot of coffee, and then warm up the toilet seat for Jackie. By the time Jackie woke up, the toilet was warm, the coffee made, and she could go to work a happy woman.

At the time, I remember thinking, ‘God, that’s disgusting!’. Remember, I was a teenager. Now I’m in my 30’s and my ass gets colder faster. I’m suddenly conscious of a desire for my own toilet seat warmer.

You’re probably thinking this is a very strange post today, and you’d be right. However, isn’t that true love? Someone doing something out of love? Sure, warming the toilet seat might not seem like a big deal, and even disgusting to some people, but if you really think about it, poor John had to freeze his backside to do it.

Practical romance isn’t all flowers, and candlelit dinners. It’s a husband buying his wife snow tires before the first snow falls. It’s a wife who fixes her husband’s favorite meal just because. It could be the video gamer who gets his non-gaming girlfriend a game she can play too.  That’s romance.

Now, how does this fit in writing? I’m not quite sure where it’ll work in my current works, although I am thinking my hero might have to give his assassin heroine a box of demon killer ammunition. That’s romantic…to an assassin.

What’s the most practical romantic gift you’ve ever received? Did you realize how important it was when it was given to you? Do you have a sweet husband who warms the toilet seat for you?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What’s True Romance?

  1. I do have the coffee is ready, seat warmer husband. It really is gross and makes me sick! He even lays my electric blanket on my bed and turns it on when he gets up, which is 530 and I don’t get up with the kids until 630. I’ve always said he is tooooooo good for me.
    On the other hand, I do fix those dinners he loves!

Leave a Reply

