Going the Distance and Staying on Track

There’s a light at the end of the tunnel. The WIP is coming along swimmingly and I can almost see the end. Sure, I plotted this story from start to finish, but there have been deviations from the plot. I’m sure I’ll be upset when I go back and read what I’ve done, but overall, I’m pleased with the way it’s coming out.

However, now that the end is nearing, my mind is already burning gears to figure out my next project. I have, off the top of my head, at least eight stories waiting to be written. My problem is, which one to write next? I shouldn’t be thinking of this yet, I think, because I still have to clean up my 2nd MS and get to editing #3. But my mind doesn’t work that way.

Right now I’m torn between starting book 4 of the Veil series, and starting a new series. Veil #4 would be about a witch and an incubus. The incubus has appeared in the first two of my Veilerian books and I have a vague idea how I want to start the story. On the other hand, the next series I’m contemplating, has been scratching at me since November.

The second series would involve a whole new world, a whole new list of characters and problems. Instead of fighting a known evil, the heroes and heroines battle their own natures. I know who they are and what they want, I just haven’t found their counterparts yet.

Like I said, I shouldn’t be thinking about this just yet, right? I need to stay on track with the WIP, right? Well, I don’t know. Is it better to keep writing and edit when I can? Or should I just edit first? It’s a puzzle, one I think I’ll need help solving.

So that’s today’s question: What do you think I should do? Edit, revise, and clean? Or start something new to keep my creative juices flowing? If so, which one? The new series, or the old? Any advice is greatly appreciated, my friends, and to show that appreciation, I’ll be giving away a book to a random commenter!

3 Comments

Filed under contest, Writing

3 responses to “Going the Distance and Staying on Track

  1. Eh. I’m a bad one to give advice on this one since I’m working on 3 WIPs at the same time. All I’ve been doing is working on one until I hit a bit of a block for whatever reason (panster that I am) and then move onto the next one. By the time I’ve come back to the first one I’m ready to go on it again. 🙂

    I’d say do whatever you’re itching to do. Sometimes just plotting out the new book or writing the first 1000 words is enough to solidify it to your muse’s satisfaction and then you can go back and revise the one you have. Just don’t let the new piece be an excuse to NOT go back and edit. Editing is painful sometimes and most of us try to avoid pain when we can. 😉

    • After I wrote this post, I saw you had all those WIPs going on and was like ‘why can’t I do that?!’ lol. I just worry that working on more than one project at a time will make one project suffer, although they’d be completely different. It’s something to ponder, that’s for sure. Thanks!!

      • Yeah, well. Right now I’m focusing more heavily on the sequel to Incubus, simply because the agent is trying to sell them as a pair. If it goes through, I’d really like to have a major chunk of it already done.

        And not everyone *can* work on multiple projects, which is okay too. Do what works for you and don’t worry about the rest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

