Monday Mehs & 2010 Plans

It’s the first Monday of the new year. I’m not impressed. Really. It’s Monday. Has there ever been a day of the week to inspire so much angst? Of course, if Tuesday started the week off, we’d all dread that day instead.

2010. It’s insane really. 10 years ago this month, I was entering my final semester of college. I’ll admit. I wasn’t the most studious senior. In December of 1999, I discovered an on-line game that sucked all of the attention out of me, not to mention I’d finally begun partying like the good little college student I was. I vividly remember getting ready for classes and crying because I just knew I wasn’t going to graduate. It was so bad, I even told my advisor I wasn’t going to be graduating. When I walked across the stage in May, she came to find me. She shook me vigorously and said, “I thought you weren’t graduating!” Yeah, it was that bad.

10 years later, I’m still not the most what’s the word…attentive person. I frequently lose myself in the fantasy world I’ve created. These days though, instead of picturing the virtual world my gaming character inhabited, I picture the fantasy world my characters inhabit. It’s always in the back of my mind.

My plans for 2010 aren’t highly ambitious, I’m afraid. I never make resolutions because I don’t believe in vowing to do something I could’ve done the year before, or could do any day of the following year. I make goals. My goals for 2010 are to complete at least 2 more novels, get my 2nd and 3rd novels edited/finished, and sent off to agents/editors.

So far, my schedule for the year is looking sketchy, but slowly filling. May will be my godson’s graduation *sniff*. June is my brother’s wedding. July is Nationals (which I’m determined to make for the first time ever!).

What are your plans for 2010? Do you make resolutions?

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “Monday Mehs & 2010 Plans

  1. I don’t make resolutions, I set goals. Big ones and small ones.
    The small ones lead to the big ones. My ultimate goal is to land an agent. All the small things leading up will help me get that big one!!!
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

