A Time Traveler’s Backpack

In my usual fashion, I was deep thinking while brushing my teeth this morning. Maybe I have some brain cells that leaked down to my gums and when I brush my teeth, I tickle them into tossing out ideas. Hm, I might have to do a study on that.

Anyway, I was wondering two things this morning. First, if I could travel back in time, which time period would I travel to? I’m a history buff (I hold the paper that proves it, too!), so I had to seriously think about this.

My first thought was, wouldn’t it be awesome to live in Medieval England? Then I started thinking about the lack of hygiene and women’s rights. It would be fantastic to see what it was really like, see if chivalry was real or not, but on the other hand, they’d think I was a serf and I’d have to work.

Then I thought about Regency England. Of course, the women’s rights movement was still sadly lacking, but at least it was a little better than the Middle Ages. Wear those gorgeous gowns, have tea with a Mr. Darcy type fellow, and have my hand kissed. Although, once again, I’d probably end up a parlor maid to some lecherous sod with nary a hero in sight. Hmph. (Blame my melodrama on the Regency romances I’ve been reading lately, lol)

Which brought to mind, if I could travel back in time and had the chance to bring a backpack filled with items, what would I bring?

1. Lush soaps, shampoo, toothpaste, and toothbrush. Cause really, I have to be well-groomed in case I run into Prince Charming.

2. Medicine. With my luck, I’d pop into an epidemic and die. Yeah, so antibiotics, Tylenol, and Vitamin C would go in the pack. Even better, I could use my medicine to save someone’s life and be called a heroine! Or a witch, in which case I’d be burned at the stake, so this is iffy.

3. Feminine products, sorry if it’s TMI, but I don’t even want to think about using primitive products *cough*. If I’m going to be touring history, I’m not going to go for a week. I’d want to go for at least a few months.

4. History book so I can avoid being in the wrong place at the wrong time cause it would be my luck to be stuck in 1605, sneaking into the House of Parliament and found with Guy Fawkes…yeah, that would suck. Of course, if I were discovered with this book, I’d probably be burned as a witch. Hm. I might have to think about this item more.

So, how would you answer these questions? When/where would you go if you could, and what would you bring with you?

Leave a comment

Filed under humor

Leave a Reply

