Wedding Bells

Saturday was my cousin’s wedding. It was thrown together in two weeks, but looking at everything my aunt did, you wouldn’t have suspected it. Now that this cousin is married and my brother is set to marry in June, that leaves me as the only non-married person in the family, other than the kids.

Oh sure, we have divorced and widowed people in the family, but I’m the last of the perpetually single. I don’t think this is a bad thing really. I like being single and independent. When I get the ‘when are you getting married’ question (which always comes up), I reply ‘I don’t want to get married. I like having authority over the remote control.’ It’s a flippant answer, but it’s better than me going on about divorce statistics, or giving in to the paranoia years of Lifetime movies have wrought within me.

I have nothing against the married state. I have nothing against parenthood. I just don’t know if it would fit in with the way I’d like my life to progress. I want to write. I’m not saying that marriage would prevent this, but not every husband out there would be supportive of it, and my chances of finding a man who would be supportive, isn’t the best.

So, if you’re married and write, do you have your spouse’s support? If you’re single and write, do you think you could find a partner who supports you completely?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Wedding Bells

  1. Have husband and daughter…both are very supportive!

Leave a Reply

