Permit Me a Cruel Chuckle

If you were a Disney cartoon movie watcher, you might recognize the title from Jungle Book. As far as I’m concerned, it’s one of the best Disney movie quotes ever!

But that isn’t what I want to talk about today. Since Christmas is nearly upon us, and I can’t afford to buy presents for every single person I know, I’ve resorted to witty Christmas cards. Have you ever tried to find a funny Christmas card that isn’t a money/gift card holder? Meh. I spent nearly an hour doing this on Sunday. I didn’t fare so well.

I did find a few cards, but the best of the lot will be the card for my co-worker. It’s one of those recordable cards, but I so don’t want to record my voice on it. No, I have a much more maniacal plan. This co-worker hates, absolutely HATES Lady Gaga. Why? Because his pre-teen daughter loves her and sings along to Poker Face in the shower, loudly from what I’m understanding. My plan is to record a bit of Poker Face in the card and that’ll be his present.

Is that evil? Probably. Do I really worry about it? Nah. I think it’s a riot. He’ll be so disgusted! Bwahahaha!

On an entirely different note, I finished Suzanne Enoch’s The Care and Taming of a Rogue this morning and it was one of the best historicals I’ve read in a long time. I’m in love with Bennett, oh and the Duke of Sommerset, and quite possibly all the members of the Adventurers’ Club. Can’t wait for the next one!

So, what cruel gifts are you planning to give out this year? When you shop for presents, do you go for function, humor, or sentiment?

2 Comments

Filed under humor

2 responses to “Permit Me a Cruel Chuckle

  1. Heh. We just watched the Jungle Book last night. Which is apropo of nothing, but I recognized the quote right off. 🙂

    And I’ll be lucky to get any presents for anyone, cruel or otherwise. Guess I should work on that. LOL.

Leave a Reply

