Blue Monday

What a weekend. My heart is still pounding from the near miss yesterday between the Saints and the Redskins. Really. Why do they do this to me? Are they worried about my heart and this is their way of making sure I’m healthy? Because that game was scarier than Monday night’s game against the Patriots! Argh!

Now on to something not football related. I’ve been devouring historical romances lately. I’ve discovered new authors (for me) and enjoyed every single book I’ve picked out. This is new for me. Normally when I pick up a new author, I find the writing style doesn’t jive for me. This is why I re-read my books so frequently. However, over the last two weeks, I’ve found some really great books that leave me smiling or sighing.

The book I’m currently reading, With Seduction in Mind by Laura Lee Guhrke, is about an author struggling to rediscover the joy of writing. Since I’m an aspiring author, it almost feels as though Guhrke has written a ‘how-to’ for pre-pubs! I haven’t finished it yet, but so far I’m enjoying the story and the lessons she shares. It’s great and I have a feeling that I’ll be able to take something from this story to help with my own writing.

What books have you read lately that ‘speak’ to you? Is there a book you’ve read that gave your muse a jumpstart?

Leave a comment

Filed under reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

