Habits and Addictions

So there’s a difference between a habit and an addiction. No, I’m not talking drugs, or leaving underwear on the floor. These are the types of habits and addictions we don’t even realize we have.

Habits are things you do without even thinking. Now for me, I found a strange habit a couple of months ago. The office I work at is in a different town from our corporate office. I left my office for a meeting at our corporate office, but when I got on the road, I took the road for home! Yes, I had to turn around on the interstate and head in the opposite direction. I felt like an idiot. I did something similar when I was going out-of-town, taking the turn towards my house rather than where I was supposed to go. Does this make me a homing pigeon?

Now an addiction is when you must have something and nothing will get in your way. My addiction is books. I received an order of books on Tuesday. Yay. 6 lovely new books for me to read. I’ve read 4 of them so far and it’s only Thursday. I started feeling frantic. When I finished the last 2 books, what was I going to do? I was jonesing for more books even while I had books at home waiting to be read. So, like any good book addict, I hit Amazon.com and ordered 8 more books. The feeling of panic has eased and I think I can concentrate on other, slightly less important things like work. I can admit it though. I am an addict. I’m addicted to books.

So what are your addictions and strange habits?

1 Comment

Filed under humor, reading

One response to “Habits and Addictions

  1. Thank you,
    very interesting article

Leave a Reply

