Veterans Day

Today is the day we honor the military men and women who fought for the freedom so many of us take for granted. If it weren’t for these men and women, the entire course of history would be changed. I hold a BA in History and I’ll admit, US History was never my favorite area of study. I’m more of a Medieval England, and Renaissance and Reformation girl, but that doesn’t mean I can ignore the sacrifices made by our vets.

My grandfather was with the US Army Air Corps. It was the branch of the Army that eventually became the US Air Force. He was on his way to Pearl Harbor when it was attacked. He was a mechanic, working on the planes that carried Fat Man and Little Boy across the Pacific. When I asked him about his time in Hawaii (what an exotic place to be!) all he would tell me, was he danced with Grace Kelly (for 2 minutes) and hated pineapples.

My stepdad was a Navy Seabee during Vietnam. When I graduated from high school, instead of going on a senior trip like most of my friends did, I went to my stepdad’s Naval Seabee Reunion at the Naval Construction Battalion Center in Gulfport, Mississippi. It was the first time some of these men had seen each other since the war. My brother and I were the only non-spouse, young people there and they treated us like their own. We watched films from their tour and I heard stories about my stepdad he’d never told us. It was an eye-opener.

I admire the men and women who join the military. We all should admire and thank them. They’re all that stands between us and chaos. These are the people who fight for the rights we take for granted, they rescue us when natural disasters hit, and they die for us. For you, for me, for future generations. Never take them for granted, never forget that they carry the burden of their years in service for the rest of their lives, don’t forget their families who pray for them to come home.

So to all: Happy Veterans Day, thank you for your hard work and sacrifice on behalf of me and mine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Inspiration

Leave a Reply

