Editing Blues

As most of you already know, I’ve begun editing my latest manuscript. It’s coming along well enough. I just can’t concentrate on it. My mind wants to wander off to my next WIP and I have to yank it back to the task at hand.

The really awful thing is, I love this story and I don’t want to change anything! It really sucks when you look at it on paper and think ‘I’d read this as is’. Logically (Connor, my hero would be so proud of me), I know there are things that need fixing. I’m sure there are plot holes and undeveloped characters, but I can’t see them.

I’d try to get a critique partner, but I haven’t had luck with that at all. Nah, I’m not complaining really. I can’t write a chapter, send it off for someone to look over and be productive that way. I write when the muse is upon me and she doesn’t follow a set schedule. I haven’t given up looking for a critique partner though.

Instead, I plow ahead with my own editing skills and pray I’m doing the right thing.

Today’s question is: How do you edit? Do you have a critique partner or beta reader? Or are you a lone wolf like me?

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

