Scary Movies

Saturday I went to Baton Rouge with my nephew to see the latest scary movie phenomenon, Paranormal Activity. Let me just start off by saying if you have motion sickness or tend to get ill while watching cameras swing rapidly, don’t watch this movie. I spent about 1/4 of the movie staring at the ceiling so I wouldn’t be sick. The important parts were still, but it didn’t help me get in the ‘mood’ of the movie.

Right, so it wasn’t scary in the sense that people screamed or jumped a lot. To be honest, it was just really creepy. Maybe it’s my Catholic upbringing (but more than likely it was all the ghost/demon stories my mom told us as kids) but nothing is scarier to me than having no control over myself. Movies where regular people become possessed and do awful things tend to really freak me out.

That’s what this movie was about. There were a lot of moments when I though ‘Holy crap, don’t go in there!’ and of course they always do. It wasn’t what I expected, that’s for sure. I’m not saying it was bad, just not as scary as I thought it would be. If what you’re looking for is a good scream fest, I wouldn’t recommend it.

So this got me to thinking, what movies scared you the most? For me, it was mostly the older movies like The Exorcist, The Omen, Halloween, and a new movie, The Exorcism of Emily Rose. Do you sense a common theme? Oh sure, I jump for monster movies, I’ll scream when something unexpected happens, but those are easily overcome. The movies I listed are the ones that stick with me.

What about you? What movies really get your goat? The gore fests like the Saw series? The teen horror movies like A Nightmare on Elm Street? What’s scary to you?

1 Comment

Filed under paranormal

One response to “Scary Movies

  1. The movies that get to me are the ones dealing with possessions (ie The Exorcist) & the over the top gory ones (ie Saw). I absolutely REFUSE to watch them.

    I’m not a big Horror fan to begin with, and I just can’t deal with anything that could remotely happen in real life. See, I know Jason, Freddy, & all the monsters/paranormal creatures are not real, so while they may scare me, I keep that fear grounded in the healthy world of Imagination. So I can enjoy it in that sense.

    Now, when you start dealing with ghosts & spirits & whatnot, I can’t relegate that to the Imagination portion of my mind.

    Stuff that can actually happen freaks me out way more than the monsters do.

Leave a Reply

