Inspiration: Kurt Leblanc

It’s strange where we find inspiration. I haven’t written anything today and I probably won’t even look at my manuscript. I don’t have writer’s block or anything, I’m just thinking deeply and giving thanks for what I’ve had and done in my life.

There’s a movie I absolutely love and I’m sure a lot of people feel the same. As I’m a big football fan, one of my all-time favorite movies is Rudy. It’s inspiring, just as much as 300 is, but in a different way.

What got me thinking about Rudy Ruettiger? An e-mail from my sister. It seems there’s an award out there for high school football players who aren’t the best players, but they have the biggest hearts and inspire others. It just so happens that one of the 2009 nominees is a young man from my neck of the woods. I remember reading about him in the paper, hearing about him from my nephew who went to school with him, but it didn’t really REACH me, if you know what I mean.

However, that changed today. With one click of the mouse, I saw a little bit more about Kurt Leblanc, one of 11 children, a 4.0 student who was about to start as a linebacker for the South Terrebonne Gators last year when he suffered a series of strokes and nearly died. He’s still hospitalized, but hasn’t given up. I watched the slideshow on Kurt and it seriously broke my heart. He’s just a little younger than my nephew (who also plays football) and seeing the pictures of him with his family, or seeing him in the same green football uniform just made the tears pour. Not just because of his loss, but because he hasn’t given up.

Kurt is still learning to walk and he’ll probably never be able to speak like he used to, but this young man should be an inspiration to everyone. His story should make us all grateful for everyday with our families and friends and continued health.

If you’d like to add your vote for Kurt, here’s the link. You can vote every hour. Pass it along.

Kurt LeBlanc 2009 Rudy Award Nominee

Shared via AddThis

4 Comments

Filed under Football, Inspiration

4 responses to “Inspiration: Kurt Leblanc

  1. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  2. Em

    This really touches my heart. Kurt is my younger brother, and he is an inspiration to me and will be forever. It means a lot when I hear other people talk about his impact. Kurt’s outlook on life and his determination is unheard of. Just a little update-Kurt went back to school. Mom goes with him and stays in the office and my brother helps carry him up the stairs. He will graduate valedictorian on May 17 this year, and I have no doubt that place will be filled with tears. I cannot wait to see what else he accomplishes. Unable to walk and talk still, Kurt will attend college in the fall on full scholarship.

Leave a Reply

